Disc Golf Course Review

Disc Golf Course Review (http://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums/index.php)
-   Rules Questions & Discussion (http://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Disc On or Under Bridge? (http://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums/showthread.php?t=73202)

jenb 09-26-2012 10:06 PM

Disc On or Under Bridge?
 
If a disc is dry under a bridge, is it considered below the playing surface, such that the player gets to play from the bridge?

If not, then what if it is on the bridge over dry land? Is the disc considered above the playing surface such that it must be relocated to the ground below the bridge? If more than 2 meters, and 2 meter rule is in effect, does it apply in this case?

If yes to the first question, then what if the disc is wet under the bridge? Still get to move it to the bridge? Penalty?

DavidSauls 09-26-2012 10:27 PM

I'm pretty sure you can have two playing surfaces on different levels. Under the bridge on land, over the bridge over land, you play the disc where it lies.

The question is what to do with the disc on the bridge, over water (assuming the water is O.B.). I think it depends on how the T.D. has designated O.B.

I think.

jenb 09-26-2012 10:46 PM

From the Q&A:

Quote:

QA2: Bridge Over OB

Q: My throw landed on a bridge that spans an OB creek. Do I play from the bridge, or is my disc OB since it's above the creek? What if I'm on the bridge but over land?

A: A bridge is an example where one playing surface is vertically stacked above another playing surface. Each playing surface is treated independently. The bridge is in-bounds unless the TD has explicitly declared it to be OB, regardless of whether a playing surface above or below it is OB. If the two-meter rule is in use, it does not apply because your disc is on, not above, the playing surface. You mark your lie on the bridge, and there is no penalty.

Applicable Rules: 803.09 Out-of-Bounds; 800 Definitions (Playing Surface)
http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:A...a0WSynA8OW-rtX

Martin Dewgarita 09-26-2012 11:07 PM

In the final 9 of a B tier I saw an open player land under a picnic table seat, he took his lie on top of the bench seat and drained a 50 footer from there. Is this a legal interpretation of that?

Cgkdisc 09-27-2012 12:13 AM

No, by default. But TD can specify that discs that land on picnic tables and benches that are sturdy enough to support players can optionally be marked and played on them. But a disc on the ground under them cannot be brought upward and played from that surface. Discs landing on them can only be marked on the ground under them.

jenb 09-27-2012 07:34 AM

If a disc under a bridge is not an example of "disc below the playing surface," then when would it ever apply?

krupicka 09-27-2012 07:38 AM

Drainage tubes is one that has occurred in the past.

Cgkdisc 09-27-2012 08:42 AM

In addition to dealing with discs typically in sidehill drain pipes and animal dens that weren't designated OB, "disc below playing surface" rule is for dealing with discs in small holes, pits or crevices where the player can't fit, get down to it or get in position to take a legal stance.

ERicJ 09-28-2012 12:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jenb (Post 1625514)
If a disc under a bridge is not an example of "disc below the playing surface," then when would it ever apply?

During the past Summers' droughts Houston has had a couple courses where the ground has been so dry it cracks open enough to swallow up discs.

Razor 09-28-2012 02:36 PM

Quote:

During the past Summers' droughts Houston has had a couple courses where the ground has been so dry it cracks open enough to swallow up discs.
Daaaaammmmmn


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.