Disc Golf Course Review

Disc Golf Course Review (http://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums/index.php)
-   Rules Questions & Discussion (http://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Moved disc question (http://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums/showthread.php?t=81706)

kerplunk 02-04-2013 09:41 PM

Moved disc question
 
Here is a situation that came up this weekend:

Playing #2 at Cat Hollow (sorry, I am too lazy/stupid to post a link), the basket is visible but the landing zone is not. I threw a pretty good drive with a white star Mako, and another guy threw a good drive with a black Aviar. As we approach our lies, a guy from the group at the #3 tee says "that black disc hit that white one and knocked it six feet away from the basket."

My understanding of the rule is that a disc at rest that is moved by another disc should be placed back in its original position. However, none of us actually saw it, so I played it from where it was, and hit the birdie (six feet shouldn't really matter, right? :D)

So I think we played it correctly, since none of us actually saw the disc being moved. But if we had seen it, could I move my disc back to its original lie?

Feel free to Prerube.

bradharris 02-04-2013 11:40 PM

I'm not sure there is a right or wrong answer here. I think it's reasonable to play it either way. If you have good reason to believe your disc was moved, and this is confirmed by other players, then you should have no qualms about moving the disc back to where you believe it was.

DavidSauls 02-05-2013 08:27 AM

Off the top of my head, I'd guess that if your group believes the information, you would put the disc back. Is there anything that says the disc must be seen at rest by a member of the group, or if moved, must be witnessed by a member of the group?

Steve West 02-05-2013 05:30 PM

Excerpt, for reference:

Quote:

802.02 Establishing Position
A. The thrown disc establishes a position where it first comes to rest.
B. A disc is considered to be at rest once it is no longer moving as a result of the momentum imparted by the throw....
E. If the thrown disc has moved after it first came to rest on the in-bounds playing surface, it shall be replaced to its approximate position....

rd.bittle 02-05-2013 07:43 PM

^^This seems to suggest yes, move it back.

bombmk 03-02-2013 09:38 PM

I would say this is no different than if some unknowing bypasser picked it up to give it back to you, in the mistaken belief they were helping you out. :)

Repostion where the group majority believes to be the most reasonable position.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.