Disc Golf Course Review

Disc Golf Course Review (http://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums/index.php)
-   Rules Questions & Discussion (http://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Rules question (http://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums/showthread.php?t=84770)

Johnny Conservative 03-17-2013 05:23 PM

Rules question
 
Ok, so yesterday my buddy and I are playing a casual round. But to him and I, casual rounds are played with PDGA/tournament rules. So anyway he putts and misses, it rolls away down a hill probably 150 feet. He tells me that he can putt again from the same spot and take a penalty stroke. I was pessimistic of this call, but I said nothing, we were not playing for money or anything so I just let it go. Can someone tell me for sure if this rule is correct?

the_pwnerator 03-17-2013 05:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Conservative (Post 1904718)
Ok, so yesterday my buddy and I are playing a casual round. But to him and I, casual rounds are played with PDGA/tournament rules. So anyway he putts and misses, it rolls away down a hill probably 150 feet. He tells me that he can putt again from the same spot and take a penalty stroke. I was pessimistic of this call, but I said nothing, we were not playing for money or anything so I just let it go. Can someone tell me for sure if this rule is correct?

He is right. That is allowed.

DavidSauls 03-17-2013 05:34 PM

Yep.

Note that this is not specifically about putts. After ANY shot, you can take a stroke penalty and re-throw.

It's rarely advantageous, and the real trick is remembering the rule when you need it.

puttlikeablowfly 03-17-2013 06:02 PM

803.02.B -- Optional Re-throw. A player may elect at any time to re-throw from the previous lie. The original throw plus one penalty throw shall be counted in the player's score.

http://www.pdga.com/rules

biscoe 03-17-2013 06:17 PM

yep... just make sure you count his first putt too...

Johnny Conservative 03-18-2013 04:57 AM

Thanks for the info guys. I will have to remember to use that rule myself when needed.

Brall 03-18-2013 07:38 AM

i think i (or someone else) had a thread with a poll a while back asking how many people have ever used this rule and hardly anyone had.

texhop58 03-18-2013 07:46 AM

I should of used it at my last tourney. Had a bad putt that got caught in the wind, rose above th basket and proceeded to roll 50 plus feet down hill. Either way it still would of been a 5 (unless I sank putt. But with what wind was doing I would of just threw straight for pole. It just would of made sure of a 5 instead of having to work and throw into the wind conditions again

ScottyLove 03-18-2013 03:27 PM

I watched Nikko use this rule at the disastrous hole #16 at Vista Del Camino during the Memorial... I only wish I had done it that morning when my birdie putt rolled away and into the water much further away... I'm sure I could've made the 5 from the original spot instead of taking a 6 where it rolled into the water. I will never forget about this rule.

1978 03-18-2013 04:21 PM

Its best used if your shot rolls way OB or a very short drive kicks you way off the fairway or OB short. If you miss a 15' putt and it rolls 100' OB. Use it. Instead of taking the penalty 100' away you take it 15' away. Probably net you a better score. If you drive and you get a wierd kick but you can jump putt to the fairway do that over the rethrow get yourself a little extra D so you can disc down for your 3rd.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.