View Single Post
  #1  
Old 01-30-2012, 12:52 PM
The Hammer's Avatar
The Hammer The Hammer is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Valley of the sun.
Years Playing: 6.1
Courses Played: 36
Posts: 4,349
How would you play this?

This came up during a tournament this past weekend in Fountain Hills, AZ. Hole 1, played from the pro tees (arrow on the left). My shot is a underthrown RHBH hyzer that comes in and smacks the wall in front of the putting area (red dot). The arrow on the right is where the basket is located. After much debate amongst my group, we collectively decide that I can take a stance where the blue dots are, and take my putt. After finishing the hole, and teeing off on the next, a guy from the card behind us tells me that I have taken an illegal stance as the concrete that is just above the water is OB. He justifys his stance saying that section of concrete is surrounded by water.

What is your take?

Did I take an illegal stance?

If so, how should I be penalized?

Reply With Quote