Hanging Basket: 2 Meter Ruling
I played in the Buffalo Trace Open this weekend in Palmyra, Indiana. For this tournament, the 2-meter rule was in effect, which is fine with me. Here's the question/problem.
Hole 1 at the course is a hanging basket. The bottom of the basket is probably 7.5' off the ground, which of course puts the top 2-meters above the ground. Because of this, the tournament director made the 2-meter rule in effect if you landed on top of the basket.
In my mind, the inside of the basket should be considered part of the playing surface, since it is your final destination. If the bottom of the basket is part of the playing surface, then landing on top of the basket should not put you above 2-meters (even though you are >2-meters above the ground).
What are your thoughts and rulings?
Works at Disc Golf