Go Back   Disc Golf Course Review > General Disc Golf Discussions > Technique & Strategy > Rules Questions & Discussion

View Poll Results: have you ever taken Optional Relief?
yes, i have used it 14 31.11%
no, i have never used it 31 68.89%
Voters: 45. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #21  
Old 12-22-2011, 12:33 PM
mashnut's Avatar
mashnut mashnut is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Temecula, CA
Years Playing: 12.5
Courses Played: 815
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 13,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidSauls View Post
Sure sign it was a bad throw when I reach my disc, weary and bleeding, look around and mutter, "Gee. I've never seen this place before." And it's my own yard.

But, honestly, my skills enable me to find unplayable lies on LOTS of courses,.
I seem to remember you saying exactly that about two of my throws when we played there.




On the op, I've never found myself in a spot in a tournament where I thought it would help, and I use situations like that as get out of trouble practice in casual rounds.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-22-2011, 01:39 PM
TmCHILLfromCEDARHILL's Avatar
TmCHILLfromCEDARHILL TmCHILLfromCEDARHILL is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Dallas
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skunk View Post
I'm not sure if I completely understand. That is exactly what I do. However, I thought all relief was optional.

The course that I find myself playing on most of the time, hole 9 occasionaly floods. Therefore, the water would be casual and I would take a relief as I do not want to stand in water that would come over the ankle of my shoes.
casual water has no penalty stroke attached!

what they are saying is if you find yourself 50 ft in thick brush or on the edge of a cliff, you should just re-tee. You can not take the optional relief unless you move on the same line as youre on just backwards! you can not move left or right you can only move backwards(i believe) correct me if i am wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-22-2011, 01:42 PM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 19.2
Courses Played: 115
Posts: 7,396
803.06 Optional Rethrow
At any time, a player may elect to rethrow from the previous lie as evidenced by the marker disc or, if the marker disc has been moved, from an approximate lie as agreed to by the majority of the group or an official. The original throw plus one penalty throw are counted in the player's score.


I think this is what some of us have been talking about, though we should call it Optional Rethrow, not Optional Relief.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-23-2011, 04:13 AM
JoakimBL JoakimBL is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Years Playing: 3.5
Courses Played: 8
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidSauls View Post
803.06 Optional Rethrow
At any time, a player may elect to rethrow from the previous lie as evidenced by the marker disc or, if the marker disc has been moved, from an approximate lie as agreed to by the majority of the group or an official. The original throw plus one penalty throw are counted in the player's score.


I think this is what some of us have been talking about, though we should call it Optional Rethrow, not Optional Relief.
There is both optional relief (803.5 C) and opptional rethrow (803.6) in the rules.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-23-2011, 07:33 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 19.2
Courses Played: 115
Posts: 7,396
Yeah, I realize that now....the O.P. was about Optional Relief but somewhere along the way, I started thinking "Optional Rethrow" in my posts. Oops. Time for an "Optional Repost".
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-23-2011, 10:21 AM
Brall's Avatar
Brall Brall is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: ▐North Royalton, Ohio Ω
Years Playing: 6
Courses Played: 41
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by TmCHILLfromCEDARHILL View Post
casual water has no penalty stroke attached!

what they are saying is if you find yourself 50 ft in thick brush or on the edge of a cliff, you should just re-tee. You can not take the optional relief unless you move on the same line as youre on just backwards! you can not move left or right you can only move backwards(i believe) correct me if i am wrong.

Correct Sir!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidSauls View Post
Yeah, I realize that now....the O.P. was about Optional Relief but somewhere along the way, I started thinking "Optional Rethrow" in my posts. Oops. Time for an "Optional Repost".
lulz

this is a topic about a mostly unused option in the rule book so i understand that there is some confusion.

i initially posted the entire page and highlighted the part i am referring to so that everyone could see the difference from casual to the penalty option.


any more optional relief stories out there?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-23-2011, 10:35 AM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.4
Courses Played: 586
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,630
In the older rulebook, you used to be able to take a 2-throw penalty to relocate your lie anywhere on the fairway you wanted but no closer to the hole. I never used that option but I remember when you could go sideways from a bad lie up to 5m and no closer to the hole with a 1-shot penalty. I used this one time at the Cincy Worlds in 1998 when I was in a nasty stand of pricker bushes just inside the woods and 5m got me to the edge so I could reach out and flick a shot toward the pin to try and save 5.
Reply With Quote
 

  #28  
Old 12-27-2011, 09:45 AM
Skinny Disc Guy Skinny Disc Guy is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Forney, TX
Posts: 38
When I first started playing we called this a "foot wedge" LOL. But I have had to use this when I'm off in the thorns etc. when it was just too thick for any kind of a shot including "back tracking" away from the hole to get out of it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.