#21  
Old 02-07-2012, 01:09 AM
ohtobediscing's Avatar
ohtobediscing ohtobediscing is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: VW Vanagon
Years Playing: 35
Courses Played: 153
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 1,756
You guys must all be lawyers. I'll try again.

After my first throw, I let the disc lie as the marker. I took two steps, intending to plant my foot behind the marker, but stepped on the marker and , my foot being wet, slid off the marker and fell, still holding the 2nd disc. The marker did not move. So, stroke or no stroke?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-07-2012, 01:33 AM
Skunk's Avatar
Skunk Skunk is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: I do not want ketchup on my hot dog
Years Playing: 12.5
Courses Played: 160
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohtobediscing View Post
You guys must all be lawyers. I'll try again.

After my first throw, I let the disc lie as the marker. I took two steps, intending to plant my foot behind the marker, but stepped on the marker and , my foot being wet, slid off the marker and fell, still holding the 2nd disc. The marker did not move. So, stroke or no stroke?


Not a stroke/throw. You're good if the disc never left your hand.

Case and point; If you tee off (or anywhere on the course for that matter) but decide to hold up your throw in mid swing and the disc slips out of your hand....that's a stroke/throw. Your next shot is from that lie. No penalty ensued unless you went OB.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-07-2012, 01:44 AM
hiflyer's Avatar
hiflyer hiflyer is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: in the LBC
Years Playing: 18.7
Courses Played: 21
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 151
The rules define a throw as "the propulsion of a disc that causes it to change postion from the teeing area or the lie." So as stated before by others, No. You never propulsed the disc, therefore the disc was never thrown.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-07-2012, 11:58 AM
ohtobediscing's Avatar
ohtobediscing ohtobediscing is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: VW Vanagon
Years Playing: 35
Courses Played: 153
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 1,756
I thought so---but wanted to be sure if the same issue came up in a tourney. Might play in the Winter Fox Open at Paul B. Johnson in MS this weekend---my first tourney since '94!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-07-2012, 02:14 PM
hiflyer's Avatar
hiflyer hiflyer is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: in the LBC
Years Playing: 18.7
Courses Played: 21
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 151
Sweet. Good luck at the tourney! I have yet to enter one myself.
Reply With Quote
 

  #26  
Old 02-08-2012, 01:29 PM
Giv'r's Avatar
Giv'r Giv'r is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vancouver BC
Years Playing: 15.3
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 907
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohtobediscing View Post
You guys must all be lawyers. I'll try again.

After my first throw, I let the disc lie as the marker. I took two steps, intending to plant my foot behind the marker, but stepped on the marker and , my foot being wet, slid off the marker and fell, still holding the 2nd disc. The marker did not move. So, stroke or no stroke?
No stroke/throw. I've bolded the reason above.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.