#271  
Old 04-10-2012, 05:09 PM
TOURNEYPLAYER's Avatar
TOURNEYPLAYER TOURNEYPLAYER is offline
*Reform School Scholar*
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Greenville SC
Years Playing: 5.6
Courses Played: 54
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 2,706
Reply With Quote
  #272  
Old 04-10-2012, 05:17 PM
sidewinding's Avatar
sidewinding sidewinding is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Milky Way
Years Playing: 6.6
Courses Played: 81
Posts: 2,813
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudslinger View Post
She's right about there being no double jeopardy...meaning you only have to take 1 penality, not two.
Please enlighten us as to where this "no double jeopardy rule" is. That is the crux of this arguement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mudslinger View Post
Presume 2 M was in effect at start of round by TD...?
Of course or this would never have been an issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mudslinger View Post
she would have to take relief (and a stroke penality) per 803.08A & C..
That is what I have been saying all along but some are saying she can take advantage of a rule and cancel out the 2 meter penalty by taking an optional rethrow instead.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mudslinger View Post
I assumem the area she's in is IB since you can't apply 2 m rule to OB shots.
You are correct in that assumption.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mudslinger View Post
So what about an IB shot is unplayable?
Inpenetrable thorn vines.
Reply With Quote
  #273  
Old 04-10-2012, 05:26 PM
mudslinger's Avatar
mudslinger mudslinger is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mpls, MN
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewinding View Post
Please enlighten us as to where this "no double jeopardy rule" is. That is the crux of this arguement.
Per CK's Q&A discussion, double jeopardy is not a rule.

QA33: Penalty Rule Priorities
Q: Is there a priority order for which penalty rule should be applied if more than one applies?
A: Yes. The priority order that penalty rules should be applied is as follows: Missing a Mandatory, Out-of-Bounds, Disc Above Two Meters (when the two-meter rule in effect), and Lost Disc. For example, if a throw misses a mandatory and lands in an OB area, the player moves to the Mandatory's Drop Zone and receives a one-throw penalty. A player does not receive more than one penalty throw even if their throw violates more than one of those penalty rules.


Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewinding View Post
That is what I have been saying all along but some are saying she can take advantage of a rule and cancel out the 2 meter penalty by taking an optional rethrow instead.
She can "cancel" whatever other rulings she wants with optional rethrow, since optional rethrow can be used AT ANY TIME, according to rules. NO matter what she's taking a stroke and distance for optional rethrow. so if the 1st throw from teebox was in trees, she's shooting 3 from the tee again using optional rethrow. She can use 2M rule instead and play from below wherever the disc is in the tree, also shooting 3. SO it's either shoot 3 from the tee or shoot 3 from the relief point below tree. Depends on the situation as to what you take.



Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewinding View Post
Inpenetrable thorn vines.
sucks...but she's entitled to take a penalty stroke to relocate to not play from that spot.
Reply With Quote
  #274  
Old 04-10-2012, 05:31 PM
sidewinding's Avatar
sidewinding sidewinding is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Milky Way
Years Playing: 6.6
Courses Played: 81
Posts: 2,813
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudslinger View Post
Per CK's Q&A discussion, double jeopardy is not a rule.

QA33: Penalty Rule Priorities
Q: Is there a priority order for which penalty rule should be applied if more than one applies?
A: Yes. The priority order that penalty rules should be applied is as follows: Missing a Mandatory, Out-of-Bounds, Disc Above Two Meters (when the two-meter rule in effect), and Lost Disc. For example, if a throw misses a mandatory and lands in an OB area, the player moves to the Mandatory's Drop Zone and receives a one-throw penalty. A player does not receive more than one penalty throw even if their throw violates more than one of those penalty rules.
She did not violate more than one of those rules. Only the one (2 meter) so just like the first two or three times you posted this it still does not apply to this situation.

And it's not a rule. It's a quote from PDGA's website. Are you seriously going to carry this around and try to use it for ruling in a tourney? Of course not. Only the rule book is valid for that.

Last edited by sidewinding; 04-10-2012 at 05:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #275  
Old 04-10-2012, 05:36 PM
mudslinger's Avatar
mudslinger mudslinger is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mpls, MN
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewinding View Post
She did not violate more than one of those rules. Only the one (2 meter) so just like the first two or three times you posted this it still does not apply to this situation.
I don't see how 2 rules apply together. You either take 2m rule or you take optional rethrow. You can't take an optional rethrow on a RELOCATED 2m spot, which is what you're trying to do. the optional rethrow applies to where the disc is now (in the tree), not to where you relieve it. If she says "well i'll take 2m rule, but this is impossible to play from"...too bad...you should have taken the optional rethrow instead. make sense?

/thread. seriously call the pDGA if you still don't get it.
Reply With Quote
  #276  
Old 04-10-2012, 05:39 PM
mudslinger's Avatar
mudslinger mudslinger is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mpls, MN
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewinding View Post
And it's not a rule. It's a quote from PDGA's website. Are you seriously going to carry this around and try to use it for ruling in a tourney? Of course not. Only the rule book is valid for that.
the rules Q&A was added last year to the 2011 rulebook...meaning that players could reference the Q&A to help make rulings determinations.
Reply With Quote
  #277  
Old 04-10-2012, 05:40 PM
mudslinger's Avatar
mudslinger mudslinger is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mpls, MN
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudslinger View Post
the rules Q&A was added last year to the 2011 rulebook...meaning that players could reference the Q&A to help make rulings determinations.
correction...that was for 2012. Per the website:


Beginning on January 1, 2012 the PDGA Rules Q&A are considered to be authoritative and will stand alongside the PDGA Official Rules of Disc Golf and the PDGA Competition Manual for Disc Golf Events as the rules that govern competition in the sport of disc golf. The PDGA Rules Q&A will be included in the 2013 printing of the PDGA rulebook and will also be incorporated into the PDGA Official’s Exam at a future date. The PDGA Rules Q&A may be found online at pdga.com/rulesqa
Reply With Quote
  #278  
Old 04-10-2012, 05:46 PM
Pwingles's Avatar
Pwingles Pwingles is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bird Town
Years Playing: 8.7
Courses Played: 56
Posts: 3,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOURNEYPLAYER View Post
Lol, little did i know some seemingly insignificant post i made while taking a glorious morning dump would create this much chaos, muhahahahah
Reply With Quote
  #279  
Old 04-10-2012, 05:50 PM
Shimmer's Avatar
Shimmer Shimmer is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Washington, IL
Courses Played: 22
Posts: 268
A local TD who had no idea what he was talking about, "If the disc goes in the chains and hangs in the chains, and at no point lands in the basket, it does not count."
Reply With Quote
 

  #280  
Old 04-10-2012, 05:51 PM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.5
Courses Played: 586
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,693
If the 2m rule is in effect and a player's disc lands above 2m, the player may either rethrow from the previous lie/tee with a 1-throw penalty or mark below the disc with a 1-throw penalty. If the player does not like the lie below the disc, they likely will call an Optional Rethrow before marking below the disc instead of hacking out from that lie. However, they can use the Optional Relief rule to take line of play relief straight back until satisfied but that's costs another 1-throw penalty. I can only think of a rare situation where someone might do that versus rethrowing for just a 1-throw penalty versus 2.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.