#11  
Old 07-20-2012, 08:55 AM
John Rock John Rock is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Rock Yard - Amarillo, TX
Years Playing: 30.6
Courses Played: 77
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Bad View Post
The rules only pertain to your stance at the time of release. You could start a mile behind your lie so long as at the point of release you satisfy the conditions of the legal stance shown in the diagrams.
You'll have to do your run up really fast because you only get 30 seconds to throw once it's your turn. Man, that would be like the fastest mile run EVER!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-20-2012, 09:16 AM
Captain Bad's Avatar
Captain Bad Captain Bad is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Years Playing: 16.3
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Rock View Post
You'll have to do your run up really fast because you only get 30 seconds to throw once it's your turn. Man, that would be like the fastest mile run EVER!
Challenge accepted.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-20-2012, 12:33 PM
jdawgl's Avatar
jdawgl jdawgl is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Upstate SC
Years Playing: 6
Courses Played: 30
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 140
I thought you are allowed to touch your mini, just not the top of it:

Rule 803.04 A. (2) have no supporting point contact with the marker disc or any object closer to the hole than the rear edge of the marker disc; and,
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-20-2012, 12:40 PM
Um...'s Avatar
Um... Um... is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: encinitas
Years Playing: 6.3
Courses Played: 12
Posts: 808
Ok why is placing a mini legal, but flipping your disc over from its lie (transforming it into a GIANT mini) not legal?? Is it because of the whole 'moving your original lie' thing?

FWIW, I do this all the time in casual rounds cuz I'm too lazy to reach for a mini.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-20-2012, 12:43 PM
BionicRib's Avatar
BionicRib BionicRib is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Years Playing: 14.4
Courses Played: 189
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdawgl View Post
I thought you are allowed to touch your mini, just not the top of it:

Rule 803.04 A. (2) have no supporting point contact with the marker disc or any object closer to the hole than the rear edge of the marker disc; and,
Nope can't touch it, because technically you would make yourself closer to the hole if you did
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-20-2012, 12:45 PM
BionicRib's Avatar
BionicRib BionicRib is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Years Playing: 14.4
Courses Played: 189
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by Um... View Post
Ok why is placing a mini legal, but flipping your disc over from its lie (transforming it into a GIANT mini) not legal?? Is it because of the whole 'moving your original lie' thing?

FWIW, I do this all the time in casual rounds cuz I'm too lazy to reach for a mini.
By flipping the disc your actual lie could move forward when the disc lands and slides thus not really playing where it lies. Rules are rules......although flipping the disc is usually accepted in most leagues and casual play
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-20-2012, 12:46 PM
ViolaBouquet's Avatar
ViolaBouquet ViolaBouquet is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Waterford, MI
Years Playing: 6.3
Courses Played: 17
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Um... View Post
Ok why is placing a mini legal, but flipping your disc over from its lie (transforming it into a GIANT mini) not legal?? Is it because of the whole 'moving your original lie' thing?

FWIW, I do this all the time in casual rounds cuz I'm too lazy to reach for a mini.
Because that's the rule. Also... I have "flipped" a disc, and it was not exactly where a mini might have been put (Either from the disc slipping, or on an odd hill). Essentially, you cannot touch anything until it is marked.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-20-2012, 01:00 PM
jdawgl's Avatar
jdawgl jdawgl is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Upstate SC
Years Playing: 6
Courses Played: 30
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by BionicRib View Post
Nope can't touch it, because technically you would make yourself closer to the hole if you did
I assert that even though the grey ball is touching the black ball, the front of the grey ball is no closer to the orange rectangle than the back of the black ball. Am I wrong?

Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-20-2012, 01:26 PM
Captain Bad's Avatar
Captain Bad Captain Bad is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Years Playing: 16.3
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Um... View Post
Ok why is placing a mini legal, but flipping your disc over from its lie (transforming it into a GIANT mini) not legal?? Is it because of the whole 'moving your original lie' thing?

FWIW, I do this all the time in casual rounds cuz I'm too lazy to reach for a mini.
It opens up the possibility of people flipping their discs over multiple times, accidentally or otherwise. Having a fixed position for your lie, either with a mini or the disc itself, solves that.
Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 07-20-2012, 01:34 PM
mjoyce mjoyce is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Years Playing: 5.3
Courses Played: 15
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdawgl View Post
I assert that even though the grey ball is touching the black ball, the front of the grey ball is no closer to the orange rectangle than the back of the black ball. Am I wrong?

no you're not wrong but that's not the way the rule is written.

But your Mini is not fixed to the ground at a constant point. Therefore if you're touching your mini your foot may or may not have moved your mini or marker disc forward ever so slightly.

So basically you cant touch your marker disc for the same reason you can't flip your disc and use that as your lie.

For the record if your foot was just ever so slightly touching your mini as it is in the picture you provided I woudln't call you on it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.