#1  
Old 09-26-2012, 10:06 PM
jenb's Avatar
jenb jenb is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: DFW TX USA
Years Playing: 9.2
Courses Played: 82
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,352
Disc On or Under Bridge?

If a disc is dry under a bridge, is it considered below the playing surface, such that the player gets to play from the bridge?

If not, then what if it is on the bridge over dry land? Is the disc considered above the playing surface such that it must be relocated to the ground below the bridge? If more than 2 meters, and 2 meter rule is in effect, does it apply in this case?

If yes to the first question, then what if the disc is wet under the bridge? Still get to move it to the bridge? Penalty?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2012, 10:27 PM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 19.2
Courses Played: 115
Posts: 7,389
I'm pretty sure you can have two playing surfaces on different levels. Under the bridge on land, over the bridge over land, you play the disc where it lies.

The question is what to do with the disc on the bridge, over water (assuming the water is O.B.). I think it depends on how the T.D. has designated O.B.

I think.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-26-2012, 10:46 PM
jenb's Avatar
jenb jenb is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: DFW TX USA
Years Playing: 9.2
Courses Played: 82
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,352
From the Q&A:

Quote:
QA2: Bridge Over OB

Q: My throw landed on a bridge that spans an OB creek. Do I play from the bridge, or is my disc OB since it's above the creek? What if I'm on the bridge but over land?

A: A bridge is an example where one playing surface is vertically stacked above another playing surface. Each playing surface is treated independently. The bridge is in-bounds unless the TD has explicitly declared it to be OB, regardless of whether a playing surface above or below it is OB. If the two-meter rule is in use, it does not apply because your disc is on, not above, the playing surface. You mark your lie on the bridge, and there is no penalty.

Applicable Rules: 803.09 Out-of-Bounds; 800 Definitions (Playing Surface)

Last edited by jenb; 09-26-2012 at 10:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-26-2012, 11:07 PM
Martin Dewgarita's Avatar
Martin Dewgarita Martin Dewgarita is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: In the Woods, WI
Years Playing: 4.8
Courses Played: 1149
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,314
In the final 9 of a B tier I saw an open player land under a picnic table seat, he took his lie on top of the bench seat and drained a 50 footer from there. Is this a legal interpretation of that?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2012, 12:13 AM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.4
Courses Played: 586
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,617
No, by default. But TD can specify that discs that land on picnic tables and benches that are sturdy enough to support players can optionally be marked and played on them. But a disc on the ground under them cannot be brought upward and played from that surface. Discs landing on them can only be marked on the ground under them.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2012, 07:34 AM
jenb's Avatar
jenb jenb is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: DFW TX USA
Years Playing: 9.2
Courses Played: 82
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,352
If a disc under a bridge is not an example of "disc below the playing surface," then when would it ever apply?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-27-2012, 07:38 AM
krupicka krupicka is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 13.2
Courses Played: 59
Posts: 466
Drainage tubes is one that has occurred in the past.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-27-2012, 08:42 AM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.4
Courses Played: 586
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,617
In addition to dealing with discs typically in sidehill drain pipes and animal dens that weren't designated OB, "disc below playing surface" rule is for dealing with discs in small holes, pits or crevices where the player can't fit, get down to it or get in position to take a legal stance.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-28-2012, 12:48 PM
ERicJ's Avatar
ERicJ ERicJ is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Years Playing: 6.7
Courses Played: 187
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by jenb View Post
If a disc under a bridge is not an example of "disc below the playing surface," then when would it ever apply?
During the past Summers' droughts Houston has had a couple courses where the ground has been so dry it cracks open enough to swallow up discs.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 09-28-2012, 02:36 PM
Razor's Avatar
Razor Razor is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Figsboro, Va
Years Playing: 6.2
Courses Played: 33
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 147
Quote:
During the past Summers' droughts Houston has had a couple courses where the ground has been so dry it cracks open enough to swallow up discs.
Daaaaammmmmn
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.