#1  
Old 03-17-2013, 05:23 PM
Johnny Conservative's Avatar
Johnny Conservative Johnny Conservative is offline
Cool dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ashland, KY
Years Playing: 4.2
Courses Played: 19
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 541
Rules question

Ok, so yesterday my buddy and I are playing a casual round. But to him and I, casual rounds are played with PDGA/tournament rules. So anyway he putts and misses, it rolls away down a hill probably 150 feet. He tells me that he can putt again from the same spot and take a penalty stroke. I was pessimistic of this call, but I said nothing, we were not playing for money or anything so I just let it go. Can someone tell me for sure if this rule is correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2013, 05:24 PM
the_pwnerator's Avatar
the_pwnerator the_pwnerator is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Frankenmuth, MI
Years Playing: 3.3
Courses Played: 18
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Conservative View Post
Ok, so yesterday my buddy and I are playing a casual round. But to him and I, casual rounds are played with PDGA/tournament rules. So anyway he putts and misses, it rolls away down a hill probably 150 feet. He tells me that he can putt again from the same spot and take a penalty stroke. I was pessimistic of this call, but I said nothing, we were not playing for money or anything so I just let it go. Can someone tell me for sure if this rule is correct?
He is right. That is allowed.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2013, 05:34 PM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 19.2
Courses Played: 115
Posts: 7,389
Yep.

Note that this is not specifically about putts. After ANY shot, you can take a stroke penalty and re-throw.

It's rarely advantageous, and the real trick is remembering the rule when you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2013, 06:02 PM
puttlikeablowfly puttlikeablowfly is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Years Playing: 14.2
Courses Played: 103
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 282
803.02.B -- Optional Re-throw. A player may elect at any time to re-throw from the previous lie. The original throw plus one penalty throw shall be counted in the player's score.

http://www.pdga.com/rules
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-17-2013, 06:17 PM
biscoe biscoe is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 19.3
Courses Played: 78
Posts: 4,040
yep... just make sure you count his first putt too...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-18-2013, 04:57 AM
Johnny Conservative's Avatar
Johnny Conservative Johnny Conservative is offline
Cool dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ashland, KY
Years Playing: 4.2
Courses Played: 19
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 541
Thanks for the info guys. I will have to remember to use that rule myself when needed.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-18-2013, 07:38 AM
Brall's Avatar
Brall Brall is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: ▐North Royalton, Ohio Ω
Years Playing: 6
Courses Played: 41
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,860
i think i (or someone else) had a thread with a poll a while back asking how many people have ever used this rule and hardly anyone had.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-18-2013, 07:46 AM
texhop58 texhop58 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: dfw, texas
Years Playing: 12.2
Courses Played: 50
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 631
I should of used it at my last tourney. Had a bad putt that got caught in the wind, rose above th basket and proceeded to roll 50 plus feet down hill. Either way it still would of been a 5 (unless I sank putt. But with what wind was doing I would of just threw straight for pole. It just would of made sure of a 5 instead of having to work and throw into the wind conditions again
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-18-2013, 03:27 PM
ScottyLove ScottyLove is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Years Playing: 3
Courses Played: 93
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 817
I watched Nikko use this rule at the disastrous hole #16 at Vista Del Camino during the Memorial... I only wish I had done it that morning when my birdie putt rolled away and into the water much further away... I'm sure I could've made the 5 from the original spot instead of taking a 6 where it rolled into the water. I will never forget about this rule.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 03-18-2013, 04:21 PM
1978 1978 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Charlotte, Nc
Years Playing: 6.1
Courses Played: 167
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,855
Its best used if your shot rolls way OB or a very short drive kicks you way off the fairway or OB short. If you miss a 15' putt and it rolls 100' OB. Use it. Instead of taking the penalty 100' away you take it 15' away. Probably net you a better score. If you drive and you get a wierd kick but you can jump putt to the fairway do that over the rethrow get yourself a little extra D so you can disc down for your 3rd.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.