Disc Golf Store
  #4171  
Old 07-08-2014, 11:22 PM
Plastic Thunder's Avatar
Plastic Thunder Plastic Thunder is online now
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Raleigh
Years Playing: 2.8
Courses Played: 17
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 250
FAF, what does is stand for?

I have seen a number of Firebirds listed as FAF Firebirds. Help a slow guy out with the definition.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #4172  
Old 07-08-2014, 11:25 PM
aperez3523 aperez3523 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Years Playing: 1.9
Courses Played: 19
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plastic Thunder View Post
I have seen a number of Firebirds listed as FAF Firebirds. Help a slow guy out with the definition.
Flat As F#k
Reply With Quote
  #4173  
Old 07-08-2014, 11:27 PM
discguy42's Avatar
discguy42 discguy42 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Meridian,MS
Years Playing: 3.7
Courses Played: 8
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 737
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plastic Thunder View Post
I have seen a number of Firebirds listed as FAF Firebirds. Help a slow guy out with the definition.
Flat-AS-F***! Do a Firebird search and there is some pics to show how flat is flat for that disc. Sorry, dont remember the thread...
Reply With Quote
  #4174  
Old 07-09-2014, 09:43 PM
Tschanz Tschanz is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Hays, KS
Years Playing: 11.6
Courses Played: 1
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 3
Ok. I've been playing for a while and I know the game. I'm just now starting a collection, and sometimes I see people say "second run" or "fourth run". I know what that means, but as far as I've seen they only have special stamps on first run discs? How do I tell what run my (non first run) disc is? Also, is there a way to find out specifically what # of disc your first run disc is? I have several first runs in my collection, and I just wanna find out how many discs of that mold were made before it.
Reply With Quote
  #4175  
Old 07-10-2014, 01:39 AM
Plastic Thunder's Avatar
Plastic Thunder Plastic Thunder is online now
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Raleigh
Years Playing: 2.8
Courses Played: 17
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 250
I figured as much. I just needed to see it in print.

Quote:
Originally Posted by discguy42 View Post
Flat-AS-F***! Do a Firebird search and there is some pics to show how flat is flat for that disc. Sorry, dont remember the thread...
Reply With Quote
  #4176  
Old 07-13-2014, 11:23 PM
Plastic Thunder's Avatar
Plastic Thunder Plastic Thunder is online now
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Raleigh
Years Playing: 2.8
Courses Played: 17
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 250
New Leopard question?

I have looked at a number of new Champion Leopards lately and there appears to be 2 different molds. One is the CAL, and the other is the CA. The reason I am asking the question is that it seems a bit odd to be running 2 different molds from the same factory. The 2 molds are so very different, quality control would be pretty tough. The CA mold has a huge dome, I refer to is as a stripper boob.

The CAL mold is the same as the Candy Pro Leopard from years ago. I have a few of those and the bottom is the same.


What's funny is this appears to have been going on since 2012. I have both molds going back some time. I can't imagine that Innova produces piles of discs and prints them when they need to fill orders. This day and age we never carry extra inventory beyond what our forecast can predict.

Is this normal for them to run different molds or do they just have piles of disc?
Reply With Quote
  #4177  
Old 07-13-2014, 11:26 PM
Kodachrome's Avatar
Kodachrome Kodachrome is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: South St. Paul, MN
Years Playing: 2.7
Courses Played: 16
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,909
That's not exactly a noobie question...you may actually get more help in the discs forum under "what's the story on this disc"? It's a pretty informative thread!
Reply With Quote
  #4178  
Old 11-07-2014, 03:16 AM
Micronaut's Avatar
Micronaut Micronaut is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 2.6
Courses Played: 7
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 108
I have an order of play question. I was always under the impression that, after the first hole, tee off order is determined solely by score; lowest score going first. In case of a tie, order is determined by scores on earlier holes. Right? That seems to be the gist of rule #801.05 B. Well recently I was playing with someone who was convinced that, in the case of a tie, if one person had say a 4 and the other had a 4p, then the player without the penalty would shoot first. Is there any validity to this? As far as I know, there is no difference between a 4 and a 4p. I have never heard of this before, and I can't find it in the rule book. I asked the tournament organizer about this and he said that, for the purposes of determining tee off order, a 4 does trump a 4p. I asked him if this was in the rule book, and he said no. So my questions are #1. Is this in the rule book somewhere? and #2. If it's not a rule, then why would it be treated as such? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #4179  
Old 11-07-2014, 05:33 AM
teemkey's Avatar
teemkey teemkey is online now
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Courses Played: 36
Posts: 1,011
^^ It's neither in the rulebook or a universal custom. Think of it as a local form of etiquette.
Reply With Quote
 

  #4180  
Old 11-07-2014, 09:42 AM
roggenb3's Avatar
roggenb3 roggenb3 is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Madtown
Years Playing: 8.5
Courses Played: 69
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Micronaut View Post
I have an order of play question. I was always under the impression that, after the first hole, tee off order is determined solely by score; lowest score going first. In case of a tie, order is determined by scores on earlier holes. Right? That seems to be the gist of rule #801.05 B. Well recently I was playing with someone who was convinced that, in the case of a tie, if one person had say a 4 and the other had a 4p, then the player without the penalty would shoot first. Is there any validity to this? As far as I know, there is no difference between a 4 and a 4p. I have never heard of this before, and I can't find it in the rule book. I asked the tournament organizer about this and he said that, for the purposes of determining tee off order, a 4 does trump a 4p. I asked him if this was in the rule book, and he said no. So my questions are #1. Is this in the rule book somewhere? and #2. If it's not a rule, then why would it be treated as such? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
I just ran into this in a tournament a few weeks ago, and we all agreed that 4 and 4p were equivalent.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.