#1  
Old 02-28-2014, 12:24 AM
SteezeOG's Avatar
SteezeOG SteezeOG is offline
Dynamic Discs #1 Fanboi
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Emporia KS
Courses Played: 19
Posts: 4,289
Rule 802.04 Part D

So I always thought I completely understood this but there are a few people at our indoor putting league who I'm not sure on and not sure on my own technique at times. I will ask you good people.

D: Putting: Any throw from within 10 meters of the target, as measured from the rear of the marker disc to the base of the target, is a putt. Supporting point contact closer to the target than the rear edge of the marker disc after the disc has been released is a stance violation. The player must demonstrate full control of balance before advancing toward the target.

It's the full control of balance aspect. When I take a stance I place my right foot behind my marker about an inch or two. Depending on distance or just a lot of factors I may or may not lift my left leg. I was under the impression that full control of balance meant you can't fall past your marker before the disc comes to rest in the basket. I didn't take it that if you lift that back leg it must stay off the ground until the disc comes to rest. I will occasionally drop the left leg back to the ground as it's coming in contact or on it's way but I never pass that marker.

If I were to do so I of course would agree to a falling putt, no balance, foot fault or whatever you wish to call it. Is simply lowering your left leg behind the marker before it comes to rest a foot fault? I always assumed the maintain balance was just not falling forward past your marked lie but a couple guys seem to think you must keep that leg raised if you come off the ground. Am I completely wrong? Do I either need to stay up on one leg like a flamingo until it comes to rest or should I just not be lifting it at all? Many times I do maintain that lifted leg and hold it, it's not an issue, but at times I also just kick it up and out a few inches and put it back down behind my lie. What's the ruling on that?

I want to be clear on it so I can adjust my technique if needed. I've never been called for a foot fault in a tournament but in league there are two guys who seem pretty confident in their interpretation of the rule. Either they are right or I'm going to shove the proper ruling down their throat next time I hear it.

Last edited by SteezeOG; 02-28-2014 at 12:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-28-2014, 12:43 AM
LukeF's Avatar
LukeF LukeF is offline
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Gray, TN
Years Playing: 8.2
Courses Played: 29
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 90
They sound ridiculous. Pretty sure you can dance a jig behind your marker if you want. It doesn't say "The player must demonstrate full control of balance in the exact position you were he was in when he released the disc." You just have to make it clear that it wasn't a falling or jump putt.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-28-2014, 12:45 AM
SteezeOG's Avatar
SteezeOG SteezeOG is offline
Dynamic Discs #1 Fanboi
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Emporia KS
Courses Played: 19
Posts: 4,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeF View Post
They sound ridiculous. Pretty sure you can dance a jig behind your marker if you want. It doesn't say "The player must demonstrate full control of balance in the exact position you were he was in when he released the disc." You just have to make it clear that it wasn't a falling or jump putt.
Thanks man. I'll let some others chime in but the next time I sink a putt and they get jealous and try to reinvent the rule I'm going to whip out my book. I just wish it was worded more clearly. That maintain balance part I think confuses a lot of people and they think you have to keep that foot up like a ballerina. I'm just not that graceful all the time lol.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-28-2014, 01:03 AM
Improbably Improbably is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 8.1
Courses Played: 28
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeF View Post
They sound ridiculous.
I agree. My understanding is one may even demonstrate a lack of balance if one then proceeds to demonstrate full control of balance before advancing toward the target.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2014, 01:23 AM
mashnut's Avatar
mashnut mashnut is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Temecula, CA
Years Playing: 12.4
Courses Played: 813
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 13,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Improbably View Post
I agree. My understanding is one may even demonstrate a lack of balance if one then proceeds to demonstrate full control of balance before advancing toward the target.
Yup, you can fall backwards then roll around as long as you don't advance toward the target.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-28-2014, 03:17 AM
scarpfish's Avatar
scarpfish scarpfish is offline
Resident Grouch
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brownbackistan
Years Playing: 11.1
Courses Played: 315
Posts: 6,170
To me, this is one of those ambiguous passages in the rulebook that needs to be clarified better.

Speaking personally, your non-plant foot coming down behind the marker is good enough to demonstrate "full control of balance", well unless you're limping around or something. What happens to your disc is meaningless.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-28-2014, 04:00 AM
DiscJunkie's Avatar
DiscJunkie DiscJunkie is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wilmington, NC
Years Playing: 6.1
Courses Played: 32
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 3,387
Chuck Kennedy has a video on this subject on the PDGA website.
Quite good at explaining the point.
It's under the rules section, I believe.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-28-2014, 07:28 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 16.6
Courses Played: 116
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 2,005
Misconception #1: waiting until the disc comes to rest.

It doesn't matter what the disc does. The rule never mentions the disc. You could throw your putt 60 feet in the air, establish full control of balance, and then run up to the basket to be standing next to it when the disc comes down and be perfectly legal.

Misconception #2: having to maintain balance.

The rule doesn't say anything about maintaining balance. It only says "the player must demonstrate full control of balance before advancing". Demonstrate does not equal maintain. One can become completely unbalanced during or after the act of throwing provided they do not make contact with the playing surface between the rear edge of the marker and the target. So long as full control of balance is (re)established before any advancement occurs, the player is perfectly legal.


The only possibly ambiguous thing in the rule is the definition of "balance", but I think that is intentional since everyone has a fairly good idea of what balanced looks like and judging it comes down to having to see what happens live in the moment. The rest of the rule, as written, is clear cut. The misunderstanding and misinterpreting of it most often comes from people who learn the rule by word of mouth rather than actually looking at the printed text.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-28-2014, 07:42 AM
SteezeOG's Avatar
SteezeOG SteezeOG is offline
Dynamic Discs #1 Fanboi
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Emporia KS
Courses Played: 19
Posts: 4,289
Appreciate the input from everyone. I'm going to look for that video. I do think it's been something that kind of gets it's own twist by certain players looking to call a cheap foul on made putts of opponents. The fact I haven't been called out in a tournament made me think I was in full compliance but I wanted to make sure. Knew this was the place to ask. Not sure where I got the coming to rest. I was just always told that I guess. So when is it ok to start advancing inside the circle? Anytime after you've established that balance and released the disc?
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 02-28-2014, 07:45 AM
Horsman's Avatar
Horsman Horsman is offline
Pandamonium Discs
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Years Playing: 8.2
Courses Played: 78
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,806
^^^^ Pretty much spot on. The disc coming to rest has nothing to do with it. If you putt and you sink you putt yet you are struggling to maintain balance and 5 seconds after you make it you haven't gotten control and you fall forward. That would be considered a falling putt and illegal. And the easiest way to think about maintaining balance is just do not go in front of your lie until you have full control of your body. Tell those people in your league that they are idiots.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.