#11  
Old 02-28-2014, 07:47 AM
Horsman's Avatar
Horsman Horsman is offline
Pandamonium Discs
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Years Playing: 8.2
Courses Played: 78
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,808
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteezeOG View Post
So when is it ok to start advancing inside the circle? Anytime after you've established that balance and released the disc?
It really doesn't matter where you are too much. If you are outside the circle then you don't need to show control or maintain balance so you can just go whenever. And if you are inside the circle then you must show control first before you advance past your lie.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-28-2014, 07:47 AM
SteezeOG's Avatar
SteezeOG SteezeOG is offline
Dynamic Discs #1 Fanboi
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Emporia KS
Courses Played: 19
Posts: 4,295
Awesome. Thanks everyone. All of this is very clear now. Putting league is tonight lol.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-28-2014, 07:52 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 16.6
Courses Played: 118
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 2,011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteezeOG View Post
Appreciate the input from everyone. I'm going to look for that video. I do think it's been something that kind of gets it's own twist by certain players looking to call a cheap foul on made putts of opponents. The fact I haven't been called out in a tournament made me think I was in full compliance but I wanted to make sure. Knew this was the place to ask. Not sure where I got the coming to rest. I was just always told that I guess. So when is it ok to start advancing inside the circle? Anytime after you've established that balance and released the disc?
Yes. Anytime after you've released the disc and demonstrated full balance (in that order, of course). Chuck's video suggests two beats, I think. As in, if you have both feet solidly on the ground without wavering for two beats, pretty good chance you're in full control of balance and you've satisfactorily demonstrated it.

The thing to keep in mind is there's really no rush to advance, ever. The only reasons to advance are if your miss leaves you as the away player or if you make it, you need to clear the disc out of the basket. But there's no clock on either of those things. One can wait long enough to leave no doubt about balance before doing either of those things.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-28-2014, 08:18 AM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.3
Courses Played: 572
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,585
Here's the video:
http://www.pdga.com/videos/demonstra...e-when-putting
As Josh points out, the rule never mentions what the disc is doing. You sometimes see players putt and precariously balancing on one foot and waving their arms, and as soon as they see the putt is in, fall forward in relief. If it's a short putt, it's possible that could still be called a falling putt. The putt at rest in the basket does not allow you to fall forward.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-28-2014, 08:51 AM
CrowLegs's Avatar
CrowLegs CrowLegs is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Columbus, OH-IO
Years Playing: 2.4
Courses Played: 52
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 279
^ Thanks for that. Very interesting. And some attempts at humor as well! Putting with a Zephyr....
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-28-2014, 09:36 AM
Rob Martin's Avatar
Rob Martin Rob Martin is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kansas
Years Playing: 4.2
Courses Played: 101
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 419
Go get 'em Steve!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-28-2014, 10:16 AM
Rob Martin's Avatar
Rob Martin Rob Martin is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kansas
Years Playing: 4.2
Courses Played: 101
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Martin View Post
Go get 'em Steve!
Sean, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-28-2014, 12:47 PM
SteezeOG's Avatar
SteezeOG SteezeOG is offline
Dynamic Discs #1 Fanboi
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Emporia KS
Courses Played: 19
Posts: 4,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Martin View Post
Sean, sorry.
lol thanks, Rob. SteevesOG reporting for duty.


Thanks for the link, Chuck and again to everyone for clarifying.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-28-2014, 09:38 PM
SteezeOG's Avatar
SteezeOG SteezeOG is offline
Dynamic Discs #1 Fanboi
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Emporia KS
Courses Played: 19
Posts: 4,295
Posted Chuck's video to the league facebook page with an explanation that you guys provided here. Lot of humbled looks tonight at putting league and not surprising everyone was watching their feet and not calling foot faults that weren't foot faults. Thanks for everyone's help with that.
Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 03-01-2014, 10:55 AM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.3
Courses Played: 572
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,585
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Disc Golf Center

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.