Old 03-30-2014, 03:08 AM
Par Member

Years Playing: 1
Courses Played: 9
Throwing Style: RHFH
Help with building a Swedish style backhand.

I just started playing disc golf in January. At first everything I threw was forehand, which was great for approaches and mids, but not for distance. I am trying to build a Swedish style throw but am having difficulties finding good tutorials on the basics. Mike C's and Beto's are the best I can find, but they are a different style of throwing.

I started trying to learn the backhand from Will Schuster's tutorial as, at that time, his drive was the smoothest that I had seen. I think this has hurt me learning as that he is light and lanky and I have proportionally short arms to my shoulder width and a barrel chest.

I then came upon the thread http://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums...ad.php?t=36716
and read about Tomas Ekstrom. I found a video of him and thought 'hey, he is built allot like me, maybe I need to model my throw after his'(except my arms as still proportionally shorter than his, my wrists hang above my hips).

I have been trying to build my throw based on his, Jesper and Jussi's deives and trying to tie it to Feldberg's tutorials. Feldberg drives the most like them of anyone who has a good tutorial out that I can find. I am still missing how to build each basic movement and link them all together.

I would be grateful for any help. Thanks
Sponsored Links

Last edited by wolfmandragon; 03-30-2014 at 03:11 AM. Reason: clarification and grammer
Old 03-30-2014, 03:36 AM

Courses Played: 12
Start by filming yourself trying it out and posting it here.
Old 03-30-2014, 08:47 PM
Eagle Member

Years Playing: 5.6
Courses Played: 14
Throwing Style: RHBH
Like Blake said, "what happens with the disc/arm during the final 12" of the throw is exactly the same for everyone throwing 500'.".