Old 03-31-2014, 08:11 PM
Birdie Member

Courses Played: 1
Approaching the basket techniques

I'm no newbie, but I'm no Paul Mcbeth. And there are still many parts of my game that I need to improve and reinvent sometimes as I get info or learn from mistakes.

I used to just keep my feet planted and reach back on approaches of about 50 - 75 feet from the basket. It was terrible form and felt wrong, but just recently started doing a mini x step and it has significantly improved my accuracy.

Anybody use a similar technique or what other options are out there?
Old 03-31-2014, 08:16 PM
Plastic Counselor

Years Playing: 6.3
Courses Played: 103
Throwing Style: RHBH
Yes- Most of the time if there is room you will find a lot of players using a step or small run up. Stand still throws require different timing and andjustments for angles.

Bottom line on approaches:
-If you can use a hyzer-- take it..
-Don't aim AT the basket unless your confident in making the shot
-Shorter reach back for shorter throws. Most of the time people compensate with too much reach back from a standstill to try and get power thus losing accuracy.
Old 03-31-2014, 08:39 PM
Birdie Member

Courses Played: 1
True and a hyzer is what I always do. I'm finally starting to realize at what range to do which technique.
Old 03-31-2014, 08:45 PM
Plastic Counselor

Years Playing: 6.3
Courses Played: 103
for me outside of 100'ish feet I miiiiight be doing a stand still up to the 200's but really my long putts and stand still game is one like my short drives and up shots are one. It just makes for less decisions and factors you need to worry about. I know stepping into a throw is comfortable and works so I do it most of the time. There are players who would do it opposite as well but finding a comfort zone and simplifying your shots is key.
Old 03-31-2014, 09:12 PM
* Ace Member *

Years Playing: 18.3
Courses Played: 92