#1  
Old 04-16-2009, 01:58 PM
ambroze ambroze is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Smyrna, TN
Years Playing: 9.4
Courses Played: 129
Posts: 225
OB or not OB ??

I have a quick Disc Golf Rule question that I cannot find a definite answer to and was hoping you guys could assist.

If you tee off and hit an electrical tower, telephone pole or any other man made objects such as power lines and that causes your disc to go OB. Is that considered OB or not? Would that be considered “part of the course”? If so, then it would possibly be OB.

I was able to find this in the PDGA Rule book:

“No relief is granted from park equipment (such as signs, trash cans, picnic tables, etc.) as they are considered part of the course.”

Would this be considered “etc.” ??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2009, 01:59 PM
80playedin10states 80playedin10states is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ithaca, NY
Years Playing: 21.1
Courses Played: 84
Posts: 1,260
doesn't matter how you got into "ob", you are ob
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2009, 02:16 PM
80playedin10states 80playedin10states is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ithaca, NY
Years Playing: 21.1
Courses Played: 84
Posts: 1,260
relief is different from ob...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2009, 02:21 PM
ERicJ's Avatar
ERicJ ERicJ is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Years Playing: 6.8
Courses Played: 187
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,953
80's right: bouncing into OB is the same as rolling into OB is the same as throwing directly into OB. You still take the penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-16-2009, 02:25 PM
ambroze ambroze is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Smyrna, TN
Years Playing: 9.4
Courses Played: 129
Posts: 225
Honestly I had to ask and I agree that it would be OB but I had to post this because I had a friend disagree with me and said it would not be OB and therefore you take a re-tee.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2009, 02:54 PM
DiscChainBasket18's Avatar
DiscChainBasket18 DiscChainBasket18 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hendersonville, NC
Years Playing: 10.3
Courses Played: 78
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by ambroze View Post
Honestly I had to ask and I agree that it would be OB but I had to post this because I had a friend disagree with me and said it would not be OB and therefore you take a re-tee.
I need some of those 'friends'
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-16-2009, 02:55 PM
magictenor1's Avatar
magictenor1 magictenor1 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Meridian,MS
Years Playing: 14.3
Courses Played: 103
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,461
Send a message via AIM to magictenor1
As far as I know how you get OB does not matter. Deciding what is actually OB is often the question (see thread on OB and water)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-16-2009, 03:55 PM
80playedin10states 80playedin10states is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ithaca, NY
Years Playing: 21.1
Courses Played: 84
Posts: 1,260
sure you can re-tee(if it was your tee shot) with a one stroke penalty!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-16-2009, 04:32 PM
bazillion's Avatar
bazillion bazillion is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sedalia, MO
Years Playing: 14
Courses Played: 55
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,918
What if you throw your disc, griplock it and have it fly out into the street and land in the back of some guy's pickup truck, then have the guy drive around the block and come back, find you, and throw your disc back to you, landing it in bounds.

OB?
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 04-16-2009, 05:33 PM
pokamitch's Avatar
pokamitch pokamitch is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Years Playing: 28.6
Courses Played: 30
Posts: 442
Send a message via ICQ to pokamitch Send a message via Yahoo to pokamitch
Quote:
Originally Posted by bazillion View Post
What if you throw your disc, griplock it and have it fly out into the street and land in the back of some guy's pickup truck, then have the guy drive around the block and come back, find you, and throw your disc back to you, landing it in bounds.

OB?
Not OB. Landed in bounds

LMAO!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.