#1  
Old 05-20-2009, 10:37 AM
innova's Avatar
innova innova is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Banana Republic
Years Playing: 20.7
Courses Played: 3
Posts: 553
You make the call. Strange DG rules occurances...

Once, while in a small regional event a player had thrown a shot into a dry creek bed with steep banks and was attempting to throw back out to the fairway.

Keep in mind this actually occured...


When the player sharply tossed the disc (righty forehand) the disc hit a tree and literally flew right back into the hand of the thrower.

It happened so fast... he really just caught it by instinct or reaction... or mere happenstance.
Clearly this was not an intentional act, is my point.

WHERE WOULD YOU MARK THAT DISC for the next throw? How should this be handled as far as the rules?

I know what we did. What would you do?

Last edited by innova; 05-20-2009 at 10:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2009, 10:43 AM
bazillion's Avatar
bazillion bazillion is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sedalia, MO
Years Playing: 13.9
Courses Played: 55
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,918
give the guy a beer.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2009, 10:44 AM
sidewinder22's Avatar
sidewinder22 sidewinder22 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Creeping Creek DGC
Years Playing: 8.1
Courses Played: 106
Posts: 6,165
My guess...since its unintentional contact by the thrower, count that throw and re-throw from same spot.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2009, 10:46 AM
cc0049's Avatar
cc0049 cc0049 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Keller, TX
Years Playing: 11.3
Courses Played: 104
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,212
Have him throw from the same spot for his next throw.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-2009, 10:52 AM
Hamilton's Avatar
Hamilton Hamilton is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Years Playing: 6.4
Courses Played: 55
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 749
i agree...same spot...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2009, 11:15 AM
trifocal's Avatar
trifocal trifocal is online now
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Years Playing: 6.2
Courses Played: 12
Posts: 631
Did the disc come "to rest?"


That it happened is wild. I have this picture in my mind of the look on the players face finding his disc back in his hand. sheesh o pete. Talk about deja vu.

I guess if his first shot went in the creek bed, his second shot rebounded into his hand..then he'd be playing 3 from the same spot.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-20-2009, 11:20 AM
solomon.trenton's Avatar
solomon.trenton solomon.trenton is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winchendon, Massachusetts
Years Playing: 6
Courses Played: 75
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 11,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by bazillion View Post
give the guy a beer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc0049 View Post
Have him throw from the same spot for his next throw.
both of these. what did you do?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-20-2009, 11:40 AM
giles's Avatar
giles giles is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Pagosa Springs, CO
Years Playing: 17.7
Courses Played: 147
Posts: 2,110
venturing a guess. Stroke him for interference and the card would determine where the disc would have landed. If this happened on a card I was on, I wouldn't guess. I'd have to see what I could find in the rule book that could be applicable. Even then, I would probably suggest some type of provisional shot.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-20-2009, 12:08 PM
biscoe biscoe is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 19.2
Courses Played: 78
Posts: 4,038
applicable interference rules:

A. A thrown disc that hits another player, spectator, or animal shall be played where it comes
to rest. A thrown disc that is intentionally deflected or was caught and moved shall be marked
as close as possible to the point of contact, as determined by a majority of the group or an
official. Alternatively, for intentional interference only, the thrower has the option of taking a re-throw.


C. Any player who consciously alters the course of a thrown disc, or consciously moves or
obscures another player's thrown disc at rest or a marker disc, other than by the action of a
competitively thrown disc or in the process of identification, shall receive two penalty
throws, without a warning, if observed by any two players or an official.



my interpretation would be that in the split-second it took to occur the catching of the disc was not done "consciously", mark it where it was caught, no penalty.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 05-20-2009, 12:10 PM
flash86 flash86 is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Camarillo, CA
Years Playing: 6.6
Courses Played: 45
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 344
Mark the disc on the playing surface directly below where his hand caught the disc. Throw from that spot without penalty.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.