#11  
Old 05-20-2009, 12:36 PM
milow369's Avatar
milow369 milow369 is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Years Playing: 13.2
Courses Played: 24
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewinder22 View Post
My guess...since its unintentional contact by the thrower, count that throw and re-throw from same spot.
agreed
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-20-2009, 12:58 PM
innova's Avatar
innova innova is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Banana Republic
Years Playing: 20.6
Courses Played: 3
Posts: 553
Quote:
Originally Posted by bazillion View Post
give the guy a beer.
You sound like a local. roflmao.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-20-2009, 01:02 PM
innova's Avatar
innova innova is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Banana Republic
Years Playing: 20.6
Courses Played: 3
Posts: 553
trifocal
Did the disc come "to rest?"

Yes, in his hand. He stood there staring at it and then looked at us which triggered such deep laughter it took a while for all of us to recover.

That it happened is wild. I have this picture in my mind of the look on the players face finding his disc back in his hand. sheesh o pete. Talk about deja vu.

The three other folks on the foursome fell down laughing. Literally.

I guess if his first shot went in the creek bed, his second shot rebounded into his hand..then he'd be playing 3 from the same spot.

I do not want to reveal how we handled it just yet and steer the conversation of this thread. I am still looking for input to get an idea of how folks in general deal with the rules.

This is a test. :^p
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-20-2009, 01:04 PM
innova's Avatar
innova innova is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Banana Republic
Years Playing: 20.6
Courses Played: 3
Posts: 553
Quote:
Originally Posted by biscoe View Post
applicable interference rules:

A. A thrown disc that hits another player, spectator, or animal shall be played where it comes
to rest. A thrown disc that is intentionally deflected or was caught and moved shall be marked
as close as possible to the point of contact, as determined by a majority of the group or an
official. Alternatively, for intentional interference only, the thrower has the option of taking a re-throw.


C. Any player who consciously alters the course of a thrown disc, or consciously moves or
obscures another player's thrown disc at rest or a marker disc, other than by the action of a
competitively thrown disc or in the process of identification, shall receive two penalty
throws, without a warning, if observed by any two players or an official.



my interpretation would be that in the split-second it took to occur the catching of the disc was not done "consciously", mark it where it was caught, no penalty.

Were you on our card? :^p

Thanks for posting the rules.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-20-2009, 01:08 PM
innova's Avatar
innova innova is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Banana Republic
Years Playing: 20.6
Courses Played: 3
Posts: 553
Quote:
Originally Posted by flash86 View Post
Mark the disc on the playing surface directly below where his hand caught the disc. Throw from that spot without penalty.
You were there too?

:^/

These guys are close to what we decided.

I will go ahead and reveal how we handled it.

We did what is mentioned above.... except the spot was different... directly under his hand was not the same place as the original spot. He had thrown the disc with intent and it went more than 6 feet so it was an additional throw but there was no intentional deflection... so no penelty stroke.

From what I recall we discussed a provisional but decided it was fairly clearcut, and likely one of the funnier experiences we'd ever had in a tourney.

I recall thinking... what are the odds of that occuring!!!

Last edited by innova; 05-20-2009 at 01:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-20-2009, 01:15 PM
innova's Avatar
innova innova is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Banana Republic
Years Playing: 20.6
Courses Played: 3
Posts: 553
intentional deflection...

perhaps it would be better to say intentional interference.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-20-2009, 01:20 PM
trifocal's Avatar
trifocal trifocal is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Years Playing: 6.2
Courses Played: 12
Posts: 631
Rules schmules. The sporting thing would be that everyone claim that it never happened. After the laughter subsided.

Shemp: Did you see that?
Larry: Nah....I didn't see that.
Curly: See what?
Moe: Wise guy, ehhhhh?
Shemp: I'm still away and playing two.
Larry: Try not to hit the tree.
Curly: I don't see no tree. I see a deer and a little dough and a couple of bucks.
Moe: ( Gets out rule book, puts hand to chin.)
Curly: ( Turns rule book rightside up.)
Moe: Wise guy, ehhh?
Shemp: ( throws again...second, third...who knows. Disc carooms off tree and hits Moe in head.


Theme music plays.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-20-2009, 01:21 PM
zenbot's Avatar
zenbot zenbot is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Years Playing: 8
Courses Played: 31
Posts: 10,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by innova View Post
You were there too?

:^/

These guys are close to what we decided.

I will go ahead and reveal how we handled it.

We did what is mentioned above.... except the spot was different... directly under his hand was not the same place as the original spot. He had thrown the disc with intent and it went more than 6 feet so it was an additional throw but there was no intentional deflection... so no penelty stroke.

From what I recall we discussed a provisional but decided it was fairly clearcut, and likely one of the funnier experiences we'd ever had in a tourney.

I recall thinking... what are the odds of that occuring!!!
Interesting play. I've been chuckling at my desk trying to visualize what that looked like.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-20-2009, 01:22 PM
zenbot's Avatar
zenbot zenbot is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Years Playing: 8
Courses Played: 31
Posts: 10,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by trifocal View Post
Rules schmules. The sporting thing would be that everyone claim that it never happened. After the laughter subsided.

Shemp: Did you see that?
Larry: Nah....I didn't see that.
Curly: See what?
Moe: Wise guy, ehhhhh?
Shemp: I'm still away and playing two.
Larry: Try not to hit the tree.
Curly: I don't see no tree. I see a deer and a little dough and a couple of bucks.
Moe: ( Gets out rule book, puts hand to chin.)
Curly: ( Turns rule book rightside up.)
Moe: Wise guy, ehhh?
Shemp: ( throws again...second, third...who knows. Disc carooms off tree and hits Moe in head.


Theme music plays.
What's more amazing is that Curly and Shemp are in a scene together.
Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 05-20-2009, 01:24 PM
mashnut's Avatar
mashnut mashnut is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Temecula, CA
Years Playing: 12.4
Courses Played: 815
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 13,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by innova View Post
You were there too?

:^/

These guys are close to what we decided.

I will go ahead and reveal how we handled it.

We did what is mentioned above.... except the spot was different... directly under his hand was not the same place as the original spot. He had thrown the disc with intent and it went more than 6 feet so it was an additional throw but there was no intentional deflection... so no penelty stroke.

From what I recall we discussed a provisional but decided it was fairly clearcut, and likely one of the funnier experiences we'd ever had in a tourney.

I recall thinking... what are the odds of that occuring!!!
Sounds about right, I certainly think that because his interference was completely unintentional (I very much doubt he could have done that had he tried!), I agree with you on not giving him a penalty stroke.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.