Old 05-21-2009, 08:58 PM
Double Eagle Member

Years Playing: 6.1
Courses Played: 76
Throwing Style: RHBH
Time to change technique or discs?

A little bit of bakground: I started playing in October, throw around 150-180 feet and am recovering from a cracked pelvis caused by a collision with a clueless snowboarder in January.

Just in the last 2 weeks, my understable discs started turning over for me a bit. Then, this week I was finally physically able to add the X-step back into my throw and I find I'm pretty consistently turning over my Star Valk, new X Surge, XL, and Champ Leopard. That was a pretty big break through for me ! However, I'm also finding that now all my really understable discs like my Pro TL, Champ Sidewinder, Champ Monarch, and my beat X Surge are heading right from the git-go and never coming back .

Does this indicate a technique flaw I need to fix, or is it time to change my selection of discs? If it's a technique thing, what can I do to fix it? If it's a disc thing, do I need to just start upping the weights (currently throwing all 150s), or do I start choosing more stable discs? I'm finding that I'm really liking the XL and the Eagle now, too.

God. The more I do this, the more hooked I get. There needs to be a 12-step program for DG!!!
Old 05-21-2009, 09:09 PM
Eagle Member

Years Playing: 6.5
Courses Played: 19
Well first congrats on the break-through. It is always awesome to see marked improvement like that. I would suggest two things. 1) Get a disc that you currently have in a heavier weight, 165gs or so. 2) Get a more stable disc in 150g or so. That should allow you determine what kind of discs that you need to continue your improvement.
Old 05-21-2009, 09:58 PM
* Ace Member *

Years Playing: 5.6
Courses Played: 64
Throwing Style: LHFH
Send a message via AIM to billnchristy
I second the heavier and probably the more stable too.