Old 05-17-2011, 03:25 PM
Bogey Member

Years Playing: 14.9
Courses Played: 34
Throwing Style: RHBH
Getting back into it, slowly, a few questions

I started playing in the fall of 99, was very avid for a few years, then fell out of it in 07 for different reasons. Anyway, I've gone out a few times recently, and noticed I'm starting to develop the same flaws that I had before. I can drive a putter to about 220-240 consistently, and drivers 270-300. Which is about the same distance I was getting when I stopped playing. I was so set in my ways before that I couldn't change.
Now that I've taken a few years off, and before I start to fall back into the same rut. I only throw RHBH and have the issue of turning a lot of things over. When I first started I made the mistake of picking out everything too fast and stable to mask the flaws, and in turn that made them worse. Now I want to correct them, before they get too bad.
I've heard of discing down, and think that may be the way to go, but not entirely familiar with the concept. Is it meaning that I should just go out with a putter, or??
I can get a list of the discs I own later to give a better recommendation on what I should be throwing.

Thanks in advance
Old 05-17-2011, 03:47 PM
Birdie Member

Years Playing: 9.3
Go here:
http://discgolfreview.com/forums/vie...1484a88f392c7a

Read the technique threads stickied at the top and you will be good to go. Discing down basically means throwing slower discs until you can shape lines/throw far. It has is pros and cons like anything. There are a few threads debating these on the forums here.
Old 05-17-2011, 03:51 PM
Double Eagle Member

Years Playing: 5.5
Courses Played: 27