Old 05-27-2009, 02:15 PM

Courses Played: 2
Talking New To The Game Need Some Tips

I'm new to this game. I went and played for the first time this past weekend. I loved it and had tons of fun and I can't wait till i get to go play again. However I am having problems with throwing the disk straight. It tends to start straight and turn left. Does anyone have any pointers that you could give me?
Old 05-27-2009, 02:19 PM
* Ace Member *

Years Playing: 5.4
Courses Played: 64
Throwing Style: LHFH
Send a message via AIM to billnchristy
They do that. It is called fade. Some discs do it more than others. The key is to find one you like that is predictable and adjust for that in your throw so you end up straight after all is said and done.

I am sure others will chime in with more detail. Welcome to the sport and enjoy.
Old 05-27-2009, 02:27 PM
*Super Moderator*

Years Playing: 12.4
Courses Played: 813
Throwing Style: RHBH
You'll probably get more helpful responses if you post the kinds of discs you throw, whether you throw backhand or sidearm, and how far you are throwing right now. I'll second BillnChristy's welcome, always great to have a new player who wants to learn!
Old 05-27-2009, 02:35 PM
* Ace Member *

Years Playing: 7.1
Courses Played: 25
I'm pretty new too. But I got into it in a big way. My advice is try a few different discs in different weights and plastics and just keep throwing. Practice and practice. You'll find some discs will work better for you than others. A nephew who plays pretty damn good gave me the best advice so far. "If you aren't throwing as far as you'd like, go with lighter discs." That helped a lot until I developed my throwing technique.
Old 05-27-2009, 02:36 PM
*Super Moderator*

Years Playing: 8
Courses Played: 31
Welcome! There are a lot of tips on this thread.

http://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums...ead.php?t=3486
Old 05-27-2009, 02:42 PM

Courses Played: 2