#1  
Old 08-21-2011, 04:46 PM
BrotherDave's Avatar
BrotherDave BrotherDave is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Years Playing: 7.3
Courses Played: 102
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,425
Falling putt clarification.

Are you allowed to side step after you putt in a staggered stance? If I have my dominant foot behind the marker as usual, my back foot behind it, and I let the momentum of my putt carry my back foot out to the side (and no closer to the basket) while keeping my dominant foot behind the marker is that legal? Kind of like starting the putt staggered and ending in straddle.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2011, 04:48 PM
fairweather_fan's Avatar
fairweather_fan fairweather_fan is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: the internet
Years Playing: 6.3
Courses Played: 38
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 504
yes.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-21-2011, 04:56 PM
sillybizz's Avatar
sillybizz sillybizz is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Everett, WA
Years Playing: 11.4
Courses Played: 219
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 2,305
803.04 - C:

"Any throw from within 10 meters or less, as measured from the rear of the marker disc
to the base of the hole, is considered a putt. A follow-through after a putt that causes the
thrower to make any supporting point contact closer to the hole than the rear edge of the
marker disc constitutes a falling putt and is considered a stance violation . The player must demonstrate full control of balance before advancing toward the hole."

Sounds like you did everything in accordance with the rule to be a legal putt.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2011, 08:31 PM
BrotherDave's Avatar
BrotherDave BrotherDave is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Years Playing: 7.3
Courses Played: 102
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,425
It's the "full control of balance" that worried me, but if I'm not advancing towards the hole while side stepping I should be good.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-22-2011, 12:03 AM
Rondpitt Rondpitt is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Years Playing: 19.7
Courses Played: 125
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrotherDave View Post
It's the "full control of balance" that worried me, but if I'm not advancing towards the hole while side stepping I should be good.
Yep, you got it.If you don't advance past your marker disc, there is no requirement to show balance. You can perform most any gyration physically possible; flips, cartwheels, planking, etc -- if you so desire. For the less talented ----- falling down or a well-timed grand mal seizure comes to mind.

But, at less than 10meters it is easy to blur the line between stepping to the side and stepping forward. Be thou careful dear brother.

Ron
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-29-2011, 10:19 PM
ViolaBouquet's Avatar
ViolaBouquet ViolaBouquet is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Waterford, MI
Years Playing: 6.5
Courses Played: 17
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondpitt View Post
Yep, you got it.If you don't advance past your marker disc, there is no requirement to show balance. You can perform most any gyration physically possible; flips, cartwheels, planking, etc
Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-29-2011, 11:36 PM
araytx araytx is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 8.3
Courses Played: 136
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondpitt View Post
Yep, you got it.If you don't advance past your marker disc, there is no requirement to show balance. You can perform most any gyration physically possible; flips, cartwheels, planking, etc -- if you so desire. For the less talented ----- falling down or a well-timed grand mal seizure comes to mind.

But, at less than 10meters it is easy to blur the line between stepping to the side and stepping forward. Be thou careful dear brother.

Ron
I must disagree ever-so-slightly with part of what you said. If your lie is within the 10m circle, then it is a putt and the thrower MUST demonstrate full control and balance, but that balance is no closer than the marker disc to the basket. The term "falling putt" is somewhat misleading because you can legally fall sideways or backwards or even at a backwards/ sideways angle -- just not closer to the basket than the marker. But if you do, then you must demonstrate balance AFTER that and before you advance toward the basket if you hole out.

So whether falling, having the seizure, or dancing with the stars behind the marker you must still demonstrate balance at some point before you advance.

I know it's a technicality, but I wanted to voice what I think the interpretation is.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-29-2011, 11:38 PM
kcplease's Avatar
kcplease kcplease is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: KC
Years Playing: 5.5
Courses Played: 101
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,234
well, maybe i should start enforcing this in league. i know some people with horrible falling putts, even within 15 feet. they will pull a dave feldberg jump putt from 5 meters...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-30-2011, 01:00 AM
The dude on the bike's Avatar
The dude on the bike The dude on the bike is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: East Grand Rapids, Michigan
Years Playing: 22.5
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,051
I was able to disqualify one guy due to lack of balance when he let it slip that he had an inner ear problem, after that it was easy to spot the subtle adjustments.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 08-30-2011, 07:18 PM
Rondpitt Rondpitt is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Years Playing: 19.7
Courses Played: 125
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by araytx View Post
I must disagree ever-so-slightly with part of what you said. If your lie is within the 10m circle, then it is a putt and the thrower MUST demonstrate full control and balance, but that balance is no closer than the marker disc to the basket. The term "falling putt" is somewhat misleading because you can legally fall sideways or backwards or even at a backwards/ sideways angle -- just not closer to the basket than the marker. But if you do, then you must demonstrate balance AFTER that and before you advance toward the basket if you hole out.

So whether falling, having the seizure, or dancing with the stars behind the marker you must still demonstrate balance at some point before you advance.

I know it's a technicality, but I wanted to voice what I think the interpretation is.
Yes, tis so true --- If you advance towards the basket you have to show balance before doing so (inside 10m). But, my point was simply that you are not required to show balance if you don't advance towards the hole. Anything you do behind the marker just adds to the entertainment.

You seem to be making the case that eventually one would have to make their way towards to target in order to retrieve their completed putt or to continue their next putt --- at at THAT time you are required to show balance. In the case of the latter (which could be after other players throw, etc) it seems unlikely that anyone would care. The rules don't support any penalty here.


And in the case of the former hopefully if you made your putt and are laying on the ground recovering from a goofy fall or a moment of physical comedy --- who knows? Maybe someone else would be kind enough to clear the target of your disc. IMO, You holed out when you made the putt. (803.13) And you didn't advance. Three seconds is over. No falling putt. No requirement to do anything.

But, back to the scenario of the OP. I see way to many stances in which the foot that isn't behind the marker is creeepiing forward. On the first observance I usually respond with a "Billy watch that opposite foot, it's creeping up a bit". It tends to get the other players involved so that I get a second when I have to call it later.

I am concerned that the OP's "sideways" movement might sometimes actually be a bit forward. The reality is that it happens so fast that it might be hard to tell if advancement was made or not. Guess we would have to see it.

Ron
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.