#31  
Old 08-11-2011, 06:04 PM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.6
Courses Played: 587
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,812
It's a common recommendation from those on the advance team from the PDGA to secure hanging baskets during Worlds in some manner. Graham may have been the one to make the comment to the Charlotte team.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 08-12-2011, 10:21 AM
Stud Muffin Stud Muffin is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Years Playing: 8.9
Courses Played: 30
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1978 View Post
No matter what is around them, the hole in ball golf does not move out of the way of the approaching ball.
Exactly.
Build a hill, secure the basket on the hill so it does not 'swing', problem solved.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 08-12-2011, 10:34 AM
jobwilson's Avatar
jobwilson jobwilson is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Henderson, KY
Years Playing: 5.4
Courses Played: 72
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 930
A few things.

First: No one actually landed on top of the basket during the tournament. The question was regarding the ruling had someone landed on top.

Second: The basket didn't really swing that much, and there was some sizable wind gusts. Between the weight of the basket and the gauge of the chain, it stayed pretty stable. The basket moved most when players were handling it to retrieve their discs.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 08-12-2011, 11:44 AM
Jbowdown's Avatar
Jbowdown Jbowdown is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Jordan, MN
Years Playing: 8.4
Courses Played: 73
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 429
Nobody posed this question about legality of the hanging basket. According to the PDGA Technical Standards Document doesn't the baskets rim height have to be 82" (with a +/- 6" variance) above grade (playing surface) to make it legal for competition? Isn't this why we see the man-made pyramids in the playing surface in order to raise the baskets height?

Last edited by Jbowdown; 08-12-2011 at 11:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 08-12-2011, 02:23 PM
jobwilson's Avatar
jobwilson jobwilson is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Henderson, KY
Years Playing: 5.4
Courses Played: 72
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 930
Well, there has been a twist. This came from Andrew Sweeton, PDGA Tour Manager on 8/12/11 14:08.

My official response on the subject:

Ruling:

"The hole as played and officiated in the event was legal as per the current 2011 PDGA Rules of Play and Competition Manual and as such did not require a waiver from the PDGA."

Commentary:

"Although legal under the current rules, this application of the two-meter rule was not well thought out and should not have been put in place. If I had been asked about this prior to the event, I would have strenously advised against using the two-meter rule in this fashion. The purpose of the two-meter rule is to provide risk-reward scenarios based on obstacles on the course. As the ultimate goal of every disc golf hole, the target itself should not be a risk-reward proposition and should not come in to play as an "obstacle" with the two-meter rule applied to it."
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08-12-2011, 02:37 PM
Giv'r's Avatar
Giv'r Giv'r is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vancouver BC
Years Playing: 15.4
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 900
Quote:
Originally Posted by jobwilson View Post
Well, there has been a twist. This came from Andrew Sweeton, PDGA Tour Manager on 8/12/11 14:08.

My official response on the subject:

Ruling:

"The hole as played and officiated in the event was legal as per the current 2011 PDGA Rules of Play and Competition Manual and as such did not require a waiver from the PDGA."

Commentary:

"Although legal under the current rules, this application of the two-meter rule was not well thought out and should not have been put in place. If I had been asked about this prior to the event, I would have strenously advised against using the two-meter rule in this fashion. The purpose of the two-meter rule is to provide risk-reward scenarios based on obstacles on the course. As the ultimate goal of every disc golf hole, the target itself should not be a risk-reward proposition and should not come in to play as an "obstacle" with the two-meter rule applied to it."
In other words, "What a stupid rule."
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 08-12-2011, 02:40 PM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.6
Courses Played: 587
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,812
Quote:
Jbowdown - Nobody posed this question about legality of the hanging basket. According to the PDGA Technical Standards Document doesn't the baskets rim height have to be 82" (with a +/- 6" variance) above grade (playing surface) to make it legal for competition?
If you read that particular spec closely, it says "as manufactured" not "as installed." Take a look at the Target section of the PDGA Course Guidelines that were updated earlier this year:

http://www.pdga.com/documents/pdga-c...ign-guidelines
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 08-12-2011, 03:52 PM
Jbowdown's Avatar
Jbowdown Jbowdown is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Jordan, MN
Years Playing: 8.4
Courses Played: 73
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
If you read that particular spec closely, it says "as manufactured" not "as installed." Take a look at the Target section of the PDGA Course Guidelines that were updated earlier this year:

http://www.pdga.com/documents/pdga-c...ign-guidelines
Oops, I meant cm instead of inches! That's very interesting that they don't have a designated minimum and a maximum, just a 'recommended' height. I guess that makes baskets that are either sunken into the ground or 30' in the air both legal.

I guess maybe it's a way to future-proof our sport to allow for DG EXTREME!
(Coming to the X-Games in 2025)
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 10-30-2011, 08:02 PM
Barbiaux Barbiaux is offline
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Years Playing: 4.6
Courses Played: 4
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 58
Is there a rule that says you can hang a basket. I could see it being ok for league but for a PDGA tourney is this legal. I think it is ridiculous to have this as a hole, IMO
Reply With Quote
 

  #40  
Old 10-30-2011, 08:43 PM
bombmk bombmk is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Courses Played: 2
Posts: 580
http://www.pdga.com/rules/80203-targets

"A. Targets used to complete the hole may not violate any of the conditions set forth in the
official PDGA Technical Standards Document. See sections 803.13 B and C for criteria to hole out
for targets. "

Tech specs: http://www.pdga.com/files/documents/...8_1_11.doc.pdf

Thing is, I cant find anything in the tech specs that specifically requires a base. But it would have to have been PDGA approved _with_ whatever chain/rope it is hanging in, as far as I know.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.