#1  
Old 10-30-2011, 08:56 PM
Barbiaux Barbiaux is offline
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Years Playing: 4.7
Courses Played: 4
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 58
Can the disc land on top of the basket?

Sorry if this is already on here, I did a search and found nothing.

Last week my buddy throw a disc from about 40 feet and it hit the number on top of the basket and stayed on top. Does this count or must it be in the basket.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2011, 08:58 PM
drickanderson's Avatar
drickanderson drickanderson is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Years Playing: 4.7
Courses Played: 11
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,853
Send a message via MSN to drickanderson
Must be in the basket. DROT (Disc Resting On Top) does not count.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2011, 09:01 PM
bombmk bombmk is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Courses Played: 2
Posts: 586
http://www.pdga.com/rules/80313-holing-out
"...
B. Disc Entrapment Devices: In order to hole out, the thrower must release the disc
and it must come to rest supported by the chains and/or the inner cylinder (bottom and
inside wall) of the tray. It may be additionally supported by the pole. A disc observed by two
or more players of the group or an official to have entered the target below the top of the
tray or above the bottom of the chain support is not holed out.
..."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2011, 09:03 PM
Barbiaux Barbiaux is offline
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Years Playing: 4.7
Courses Played: 4
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 58
alrighty then, thank you for quick reply

/thread
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2011, 10:10 PM
412Disc's Avatar
412Disc 412Disc is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Years Playing: 3.7
Courses Played: 2
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,343
Yeah, it sucks. But that's the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2011, 10:22 PM
jlh900's Avatar
jlh900 jlh900 is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Fort worth TX
Years Playing: 6.6
Courses Played: 19
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 346
can a disc still wedge in the basket?. i know that used to it could but i was told it changed last january just checking
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2011, 10:33 PM
slugwater's Avatar
slugwater slugwater is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Denver
Years Playing: 11.6
Courses Played: 33
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlh900 View Post
can a disc still wedge in the basket?. i know that used to it could but i was told it changed last january just checking
No. I wedged a disc in the basket recently at a sanctioned event and took a tap in 2.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg wedged-nuke-mhc-2011.jpg (152.3 KB, 33 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-30-2011, 10:47 PM
Bultx1215's Avatar
Bultx1215 Bultx1215 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SA TX
Years Playing: 35.7
Courses Played: 16
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,008
Oh man...that is just not right. So close, and yet so far away.


Welp, rulez is rulez.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-30-2011, 10:48 PM
jlh900's Avatar
jlh900 jlh900 is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Fort worth TX
Years Playing: 6.6
Courses Played: 19
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 346
that sucks i did that the other day would have been my first ace... but apparently it doesnt count anymore.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 10-30-2011, 10:50 PM
Jimb's Avatar
Jimb Jimb is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: WV near Cumberland, MD
Years Playing: 7.8
Courses Played: 78
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,736
Hope that this helps.

I highliighted the pertinent info below in bold.

http://www.pdga.com/rule-changes-2011

HOLING OUT: 803.13
Starting in 2011, a player will not have to remove the disc to complete the process of holing out which was required under current rules. Once the group has decided the disc has come to rest, the player has holed out.

Several target related terms have been officially defined and added to the Definitions section 800 in support of the Holing Out rule. Definitions for Basket Target, Tray, Chains, Chain Support and Pole have been added.

Groups will now be responsible to make judgment calls on how discs enter the basket. Discs that attempt to enter or actually get all the way into the chains or basket thru the top of the chain support or thru the side or bottom of the basket now will not count if the group or official sees that happen. This means wedgies, most which wedge from the outside, now will not count unless it was a blind shot where no one saw how the disc wedged. Putts that are observed to properly enter the basket from above the rim and then wedge trying to get out will count as holed out like before.

These changes for holing out mean calls for the “putting tree” photo shown below that was in the Rules School story on Interference need to be updated. Under the old rules, only the yellow disc would not have been considered holed out when the player removed it. Under 2011 rules, the white and red discs are holed out (IN). The yellow disc as before and the orange disc hanging on the nub outside the basket are NOT IN. The orange disc balancing on the rim, which used to be considered IN, is now considered OUT in the 2011 rules because the disc is not entirely supported by the pole, inner wall or bottom of the basket. The orange wedgie is now NOT IN if the group observed it wedge from the outside. If the group did not see it or watched it clear the top basket wire then wedge on the way out, it is IN.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.