#1  
Old 11-15-2011, 06:18 PM
patdb23 patdb23 is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Diego
Years Playing: 7.1
Courses Played: 40
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 387
Player changing card before round start

Want to see some opinions on this scenario that recently occured:

At a recent PDGA sanctioned event, a player switches cards with another player between the 2 minute warning and the start of the 1st round. The player did not consult with the TD. Player chose to switch cards because he did not want to start on a tough hole that had a wet teepad. He figured by the time he gets to that hole, the teepad will be dry by then. Should this be permittable? If not, what action or penalty(s) should be assessed?
  #2  
Old 11-15-2011, 06:40 PM
biscoe biscoe is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 19.3
Courses Played: 78
Posts: 4,041
hmmm...
2 strokes for course misplay?
par plus 4 for each hole for not being there when it's his turn to throw on the appropriate card?
dq for willful circumvention of rules?
  #3  
Old 11-15-2011, 07:03 PM
Danger's Avatar
Danger Danger is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SFV CALI
Years Playing: 5.1
Courses Played: 87
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,440
Is this the same tournament that the local baggers took 1st and 2nd in every category except for pro at?
  #4  
Old 11-15-2011, 07:14 PM
MikePinchico's Avatar
MikePinchico MikePinchico is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chico, ca
Years Playing: 10
Courses Played: 106
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,358
What tourney are we talking about?
  #5  
Old 11-15-2011, 07:17 PM
solomon.trenton's Avatar
solomon.trenton solomon.trenton is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winchendon, Massachusetts
Years Playing: 6
Courses Played: 75
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 11,537
it should be par plus 4 for each hole played incorrectly according to my interpretation
  #6  
Old 11-15-2011, 07:46 PM
atl scott's Avatar
atl scott atl scott is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: under a homemade fort of condors
Years Playing: 9.3
Courses Played: 152
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,421
I think making him throw all of his discs into a lake while the rest of the field watches would be appropriate punishment.
  #7  
Old 11-15-2011, 08:22 PM
jobwilson's Avatar
jobwilson jobwilson is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Henderson, KY
Years Playing: 5.2
Courses Played: 72
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 928
I still stick to automatic DQ for trying to gain an unfair advantage. The offending player did admit to switching cards so he wouldn't have to play from a wet pad in the morning.
  #8  
Old 11-15-2011, 08:23 PM
ejvogie's Avatar
ejvogie ejvogie is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toledo, OH
Years Playing: 6
Courses Played: 61
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by solomon.trenton View Post
it should be par plus 4 for each hole played incorrectly according to my interpretation
Assuming it's an 18 hole course, he scores a 126 for the round, as does the player with which he swapped. He wasn't on his assigned card for ANY of the 18 holes.

TDs often times make certain hole assignments for a reason. Sometimes to keep 2 slow players off the same card, sometimes to keep 2 douchebags from fighting each other.
  #9  
Old 11-15-2011, 08:29 PM
Danger's Avatar
Danger Danger is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SFV CALI
Years Playing: 5.1
Courses Played: 87
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,440
If I were the TD, I would have been insulted and subsequently DQ'ed the offenders (or at the very least give them a 126 for the round).

Last edited by Danger; 11-15-2011 at 08:31 PM.
 

  #10  
Old 11-15-2011, 08:29 PM
Sean Johnson's Avatar
Sean Johnson Sean Johnson is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Years Playing: 6.1
Courses Played: 22
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 624
Quote:
Originally Posted by biscoe View Post
par plus 4 for each hole for not being there when it's his turn to throw on the appropriate card?
dq for willful circumvention of rules?
I'd go with either of the above options. Taking a seven plus on every hole would likely be enough to drive the point home so i'd probably stop there
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.