Disc Golf Center

Go Back   Disc Golf Course Review > General Disc Golf Discussions > Technique & Strategy > Rules Questions & Discussion

View Poll Results: have you ever taken Optional Relief?
yes, i have used it 14 31.11%
no, i have never used it 31 68.89%
Voters: 45. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #11  
Old 12-20-2011, 06:47 PM
zenbot's Avatar
zenbot zenbot is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Years Playing: 7.7
Courses Played: 31
Posts: 9,888
I voted no because I am a man.



Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-20-2011, 06:48 PM
jdw80550's Avatar
jdw80550 jdw80550 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Greeley, CO
Years Playing: 11.1
Courses Played: 49
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,735
I've used it before when I was on the edge of creek that bends in a c with high trees and go along the sloped edge of the creek. If you are on the edge you have to punch out anyway, then you are left with a bottle neck shot to get to the basket and it you hit a tree run the risk of roll into the creek further up. Easier to step back significantly and throw a spike over the trees and creek and use the bottle neck to backstop the disc. You take a four yes, but if you don't I often see players take double circle 6, 7, and 8s.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-21-2011, 06:56 AM
bombmk bombmk is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Courses Played: 2
Posts: 531
On more than one occasion I have done it, when in some bushes/hedges, where throwing out backwards was the only real option - and where that very likely could lead to nor getting out anyway.

In those cases optional relief is clearly the smart option.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-22-2011, 09:50 AM
Brall's Avatar
Brall Brall is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: ▐North Royalton, Ohio Ω
Years Playing: 5.6
Courses Played: 41
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,860
question:
could you take optional reliefe on a drive?

example:
due to a course being neglected, overgrowth has encompassed the tee and and the surrounding area badly enough that it would make sense to throw from a clear spot farther away from the basket starting at 3 to have the odds at achieving a better overall score for the hole.

purely hypothetical.

obviously the chances of this happening are insanely low. and if it did happen, i personally (and the rest of my casual group) would throw from the clear spot for 1. i don't think this will ever happen in a tournament because no TD would ever allow it. i can see this happening in a league though.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-22-2011, 09:54 AM
chris deitzel chris deitzel is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slippery Rock, PA
Years Playing: 19.6
Courses Played: 182
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 890
Used it once when my disc landed on a bees nest that was in the ground. Never did get that disc back.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-22-2011, 10:52 AM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.1
Courses Played: 569
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,285
This isn't the same as Optional Relief from the tee but similar in concept. At the IDGC, we allow players who are supposed to be playing from the Blue tee to proceed to the Red tee and start there already sitting 2 (throwing their 3rd shot) on the holes where you must cross water from the Blue tee (5, 12 & 13). The Red tee is already specified as the Drop Zone for the Blue tee in case you go OB off the tee. So this "start from the Red tee + 2" policy just saves players from possibly losing a disc if they don't think they can clear the water, especially on really windy days.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-22-2011, 11:11 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 18.8
Courses Played: 114
Posts: 6,767
In casual play I've thrown into places that were so bad that, were I in a tournament, I'd take optional relief. However, since it was casual play and I was P.O.'d at myself for the bad throw, I punished myself by making myself play it out, no matter how many throws it took to get back to the fairway.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-22-2011, 11:42 AM
mashnut's Avatar
mashnut mashnut is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Temecula, CA
Years Playing: 12.1
Courses Played: 750
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 13,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidSauls View Post
In casual play I've thrown into places that were so bad that, were I in a tournament, I'd take optional relief. However, since it was casual play and I was P.O.'d at myself for the bad throw, I punished myself by making myself play it out, no matter how many throws it took to get back to the fairway.
I can't imagine where you'd find spots like that at Stoney Hill...
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-22-2011, 12:21 PM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 18.8
Courses Played: 114
Posts: 6,767
Quote:
Originally Posted by mashnut View Post
I can't imagine where you'd find spots like that at Stoney Hill...
Sure sign it was a bad throw when I reach my disc, weary and bleeding, look around and mutter, "Gee. I've never seen this place before." And it's my own yard.

But, honestly, my skills enable me to find unplayable lies on LOTS of courses,.
Reply With Quote
 
  

  #20  
Old 12-22-2011, 12:31 PM
Skunk's Avatar
Skunk Skunk is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: I do not want ketchup on my hot dog
Years Playing: 12.1
Courses Played: 150
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brall View Post
skunk, you didn't have to use Optional Relief you could have just done this

B. Casual Obstacles to a Stance: A player may obtain relief only from the following obstacles that are in the stance or run-up area: casual water, loose leaves or debris, broken branches no longer connected to a tree, motor vehicles, harmful insects or animals, players' equipment, people, or any item or area specifically designated by the director before the round. The player must first attempt to remove the obstacle. If it is impractical to move the obstacle, the player's lie may be relocated to the nearest lie which is no closer to the hole, is on the line of play, and is not more than five meters from the original lie, as agreed to by a majority of the group or an official (unless greater casual relief is announced by the director).



I'm not sure if I completely understand. That is exactly what I do. However, I thought all relief was optional.

The course that I find myself playing on most of the time, hole 9 occasionaly floods. Therefore, the water would be casual and I would take a relief as I do not want to stand in water that would come over the ankle of my shoes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.