#1  
Old 12-21-2011, 04:18 PM
urwatuh8's Avatar
urwatuh8 urwatuh8 is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Courses Played: 176
Posts: 162
playable water?

I'm throwing at a hole on a crest, with a lake behind it. There's a pretty strong headwind. I throw a floating disc (a Merc as it were) over the hill out of sight. By the time I get over the hill, my disc is floating right at the edge of the lake. What probably happened was the disc landed in the water, and floated ashore. But no one saw that. The current lie at edge of the shore is certainly playable (I don't mind getting my boots wet). There was no sign indicating the lake is OB. Do I get a penalty or not?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2011, 04:32 PM
AdamE's Avatar
AdamE AdamE is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Albany, IN (Louisville, KY)
Years Playing: 10.8
Courses Played: 211
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,236
Large bodies of water like lakes are always OB to the best of my knowledge, at least I've never seen them marked any other way. So unless the disc is touching something in bounds I would think you'd get a penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2011, 04:32 PM
GLong's Avatar
GLong GLong is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Baltimore, MD
Years Playing: 6.2
Courses Played: 66
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,424
as long as the disc is touching something that is in bounds, i think you're good to go
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2011, 04:32 PM
ElementZ's Avatar
ElementZ ElementZ is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Madison, WI
Years Playing: 5.3
Courses Played: 114
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,007
Send a message via AIM to ElementZ Send a message via Skype™ to ElementZ
Well, if it was floating, I'd argue that the disc was not 'at rest' and you can play it from the shore.

So, if a disc is stuck in a tree, but you don't see it, then it falls 30 seconds later when a gust of wind comes, it's also playable. I'm pretty sure it's the same idea, right?

I haven't read the official rules yet though, so there's a ton of people more qualified to answer this than me.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-21-2011, 04:36 PM
urwatuh8's Avatar
urwatuh8 urwatuh8 is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Courses Played: 176
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamH View Post
Large bodies of water like lakes are always OB to the best of my knowledge, at least I've never seen them marked any other way. So unless the disc is touching something in bounds I would think you'd get a penalty.
Well, there weren't actual hole signs, just posts with hole numbers on them next to the tee. It's a pretty new course.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-21-2011, 04:39 PM
S.Cann's Avatar
S.Cann S.Cann is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greenville, SC
Years Playing: 5.3
Courses Played: 80
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 676
If it's touching inbounds it doesn't matter how it got there (even if it floated there). Who's to say it didn't roll down the hill to the edge of the water and stop?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-21-2011, 04:44 PM
urwatuh8's Avatar
urwatuh8 urwatuh8 is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Courses Played: 176
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElementZ View Post
Well, if it was floating, I'd argue that the disc was not 'at rest' and you can play it from the shore.
Well one side of the disc was resting atop some grass on the shore, the other side was still bobbing up and down in the current.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-21-2011, 04:45 PM
GLong's Avatar
GLong GLong is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Baltimore, MD
Years Playing: 6.2
Courses Played: 66
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElementZ View Post
So, if a disc is stuck in a tree, but you don't see it, then it falls 30 seconds later when a gust of wind comes, it's also playable. I'm pretty sure it's the same idea, right?
it would be if the 2m rule is not in effect. if 2m is in effect, i think not. if the disc had come to rest in the tree, then it would automatically give you a stroke. i guess it would come down to if anyone saw it fall from the tree, and how high the branches were. on most trees with branches large enough to hold a disc, they are over 2m from the ground. the main exception i can think of are some kinds of bushy evergreens where the branches basically start at the ground.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-21-2011, 04:51 PM
scarpfish's Avatar
scarpfish scarpfish is offline
Resident Grouch
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brownbackistan
Years Playing: 11.1
Courses Played: 315
Posts: 6,194
If the disc is no longer moving under its own power, it is considered "at rest". If you throw 20 feet out into a pond or river and the disc floats to shore on the power of the water current, then sorry, but your lie is still 20 feet out in the water.

Of course, the kicker here is that your group has to be in agreement that the disc was no longer under its own power by the time it reached the shoreline.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 12-21-2011, 04:53 PM
bradharris's Avatar
bradharris bradharris is offline
Banned From the Trilogy
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Merrimack, NH
Years Playing: 11.3
Courses Played: 70
Posts: 4,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by urwatuh8 View Post
Well one side of the disc was resting atop some grass on the shore, the other side was still bobbing up and down in the current.
Unless there was some sort of very strong current, it's very hard for a floating disc to climb back onto land. So if one side was on land, it's pretty safe to say that it came to rest there. You can then mark one-meter in from the OB line (shore) and throw from there. Assuming the lake itself is actually OB, you cannot wade in and throw from there, all of your supporting points must be in bounds.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.