#1  
Old 01-30-2012, 08:49 AM
Green Aarrow Green Aarrow is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fox Cities
Years Playing: 31.2
Courses Played: 110
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 110
multiple drop zones?

Just wondering if this was allowed in the rules? Say you have a hole with water nearby. Can a TD designate two drop zones for the player to choose from, assuming one was shorter/riskier and the other longer/safer?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2012, 08:53 AM
bholy08's Avatar
bholy08 bholy08 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Gulfport, MS
Years Playing: 3.6
Courses Played: 46
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,062
For different skill levels? Or just a choice? If choice, what is the benefit?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2012, 09:00 AM
biscoe biscoe is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 19.2
Courses Played: 78
Posts: 4,023
i use 2 different drop zones on one hole at hawk hollow. players do not choose however, which one you get depends on where you go in the creek.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2012, 09:02 AM
Green Aarrow Green Aarrow is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fox Cities
Years Playing: 31.2
Courses Played: 110
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 110
Say it's a 300-foot hole to a peninsula green (250 to clear the water). If you throw in the water off the tee, all players would have the option of a 100-foot water carry straight-on or a 150-foot anhyzer around a tree that takes the water out of play, mostly.

Last edited by Green Aarrow; 01-30-2012 at 09:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2012, 09:34 AM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.3
Courses Played: 572
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,594
I dont think it's against the rules to do that. What do players do if they throw in the water OB from either drop zone?
Reply With Quote
 

  #6  
Old 01-30-2012, 03:55 PM
Green Aarrow Green Aarrow is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fox Cities
Years Playing: 31.2
Courses Played: 110
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
I dont think it's against the rules to do that. What do players do if they throw in the water OB from either drop zone?
I'd make them choose again. The scenario I'm envisioning would be a fairly easy 4 either way. The longer DZ would take the water out of play except on an overthrow, but the shorter one would open up a better shot at a 3 if someone wanted to run it.

Maybe it's too artificial as far as risk/reward goes, but in a tournament setting where a player's trying to make up strokes, it could spice things up. Each drop zone would have to offer its own obstacles because if one is more favorable, everyone's going to choose that one.

Last edited by Green Aarrow; 01-30-2012 at 03:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.