#11  
Old 02-06-2012, 02:00 AM
ohtobediscing's Avatar
ohtobediscing ohtobediscing is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: VW Vanagon
Years Playing: 35
Courses Played: 153
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 1,756
How about this:
Went to make my second throw, stepped on disc at lie, wet foot shot out and wound up on my back, disc still in hand. Buds let me make the throw with no penalty[after LTFAO], but would it be counted as a stroke in tourney play?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-06-2012, 02:56 AM
cjskier's Avatar
cjskier cjskier is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Truckee, CA
Years Playing: 11.3
Courses Played: 38
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 974
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohtobediscing View Post
How about this:
Went to make my second throw, stepped on disc at lie, wet foot shot out and wound up on my back, disc still in hand. Buds let me make the throw with no penalty[after LTFAO], but would it be counted as a stroke in tourney play?
No, the disc never left your hand.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-06-2012, 07:36 AM
araytx araytx is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 8.1
Courses Played: 132
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohtobediscing View Post
How about this:
Went to make my second throw, stepped on disc at lie, wet foot shot out and wound up on my back, disc still in hand. Buds let me make the throw with no penalty[after LTFAO], but would it be counted as a stroke in tourney play?
CJ is right. Definitions, once again ...definitions, my friend.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-06-2012, 11:06 AM
ohtobediscing's Avatar
ohtobediscing ohtobediscing is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: VW Vanagon
Years Playing: 35
Courses Played: 153
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 1,756
I was more concerned if that counted as a foot fault for stepping on the disc at lie.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-06-2012, 12:12 PM
krupicka krupicka is online now
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 13.2
Courses Played: 59
Posts: 475
Yes stepping on your marker is a foot fault.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-06-2012, 12:13 PM
krupicka krupicka is online now
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 13.2
Courses Played: 59
Posts: 475
But if you haven't let go of the disc, then you did not make a throw.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-06-2012, 12:14 PM
Jaysus's Avatar
Jaysus Jaysus is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: H'burg, PA
Years Playing: 8.3
Courses Played: 18
Posts: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by krupicka View Post
Yes stepping on your marker is a foot fault.
But only if it is part of the throw, right?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-06-2012, 12:17 PM
bombmk bombmk is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Courses Played: 2
Posts: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohtobediscing View Post
I was more concerned if that counted as a foot fault for stepping on the disc at lie.
You really should not stomp all over your marker.
But:
If you don't release the disc all we are left with is:

Did you move your marker and did you do so intentionally?

If yes and yes, you will pe punished according to rule 803.03 G:

G. A player shall receive a warning for the first violation of a marking rule if observed by
two or more players of the group or an official. One penalty throw shall be assessed for each
subsequent violation of any marking rule during the round if observed by two or more players of
the group or an official.

For breaking A:
A. After each throw, the thrown disc must be left where it came to rest until the lie is established by the placing of a marker. This can be done by placing a mini marker disc on the playing surface between the hole and the disc, directly in line with the hole, on the line of play, touching the thrown disc. A player may instead choose, without touching or repositioning the thrown disc, to use the thrown disc as the marker. The marker may not be moved until the throw is released. A marker inadvertently moved prior to the throw shall be returned to its correct location.

(Funny gap in the rules here as it specifies only that the marker should be returned to the correct position when moved inadvertently. Not when done on purpose.)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-06-2012, 11:11 PM
ohtobediscing's Avatar
ohtobediscing ohtobediscing is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: VW Vanagon
Years Playing: 35
Courses Played: 153
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 1,756
No, the marker never moved. Just me, from vertical to horizontal. Ouch.
Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 02-07-2012, 12:05 AM
hiflyer's Avatar
hiflyer hiflyer is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: in the LBC
Years Playing: 18.7
Courses Played: 21
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by bombmk View Post
You really should not stomp all over your marker. ...
...(Funny gap in the rules here as it specifies only that the marker should be returned to the correct position when moved inadvertently. Not when done on purpose.)
That gap would be filled by rule 803.07(C) Interference:

Any player who consciously alters the course of a thrown disc, or consciously moves or obscures another player’s thrown disc at rest or a marker disc, other than by the action of a competitively thrown disc or in the process of identification, shall receive two penalty throws, without a warning, if observed by any two players or an official.

Last edited by hiflyer; 02-07-2012 at 12:07 AM. Reason: didn't need to quote the entire thing
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.