#1  
Old 03-19-2012, 03:24 PM
Kaikias's Avatar
Kaikias Kaikias is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Years Playing: 7.7
Courses Played: 8
Posts: 293
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Is this legal?

Ok this came up this weekend in a causal round and didnít know if there were any rules against it. Basket is to the right side of the fairway and to the left is a hill with a drop off on the other side. My drive fades off over the hill pin high. I intentionally set my chair down in line with the basket so that when I got down the hill I would know where the basket was. We here talking about it and really couldnít think of anything that would make this illegal unless I actually hit my chair. Everyone was by the basket so my chair wasnít in anyones way.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2012, 03:25 PM
bradharris's Avatar
bradharris bradharris is offline
Team Borderland
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Loudoun County
Years Playing: 13.4
Courses Played: 87
Posts: 5,076
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaikias View Post
Ok this came up this weekend in a causal round and didnít know if there were any rules against it. Basket is to the right side of the fairway and to the left is a hill with a drop off on the other side. My drive fades off over the hill pin high. I intentionally set my chair down in line with the basket so that when I got down the hill I would know where the basket was. We here talking about it and really couldnít think of anything that would make this illegal unless I actually hit my chair. Everyone was by the basket so my chair wasnít in anyones way.
Not legal. You cannot alter the playing surface in front of your lie. This includes setting your bag or chair down.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2012, 03:31 PM
BradC BradC is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Years Playing: 6.4
Courses Played: 38
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 612
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradharris View Post
Not legal. You cannot alter the playing surface in front of your lie. This includes setting your bag or chair down.
Which rule are you citing?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2012, 03:36 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 27.5
Courses Played: 633
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 10,036
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You can't put equipment in front of your lie that might get struck with the disc and other players may ask you to move your equipmet to avoid possible contact (Interference 803.07A). In this situation, you could ask another player to briefly stand in your line to the pin so you can get a bearing and then move out of the way before you throw. You also might be able to identify a ground feature you can still see to help line up your shot before you drop too far down to see the pin.
Reply With Quote
 

  #5  
Old 03-19-2012, 03:43 PM
Kaikias's Avatar
Kaikias Kaikias is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Years Playing: 7.7
Courses Played: 8
Posts: 293
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

^^^This

This was a casual round so we where not worried about it at the time but Cgk is right.

803.07 Says
Players shall not stand or leave their equipment where interference with the flight or path of a disc could easily occur.

Being that I was throwing right at it then it would fall under this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Disc Golf Center

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.