Old 06-12-2012, 06:07 PM
Birdie Member

Years Playing: 17.6
Courses Played: 17
Throwing Style: RHBH
About to ditch the high-speed drivers.

I started playing disc golf about 15 years ago. I played for about 3 years, then quit playing up until about a year ago. When I started playing, discs like the Viper and Banshee were the " maximum distance" drivers. Since my return to the sport, I've tried several of these new high-speed discs. I've had some pretty good drives, but more bad than good. I'm getting to the point where I can throw putters and mids 300+ feet, with consitent accuracy. I was wondering if there was anyone else who felt the same. There certainly isn't anyone that I've played with lately that doesn't seem to have several 12 & 13 speed drivers in their bag. I'm not totally ready to go the way of the slower discs, however I've been getting drives over 400' with an Eagle, Cheetah, and Banshee. The Hornet has been my "go-to" disc. That thing freakin' bombs!
Sponsored Links
Old 06-12-2012, 06:20 PM
Double Eagle Member

Courses Played: 9
Theres a guy that play here that wont use anything above a 9 speed, personally it has to do with him using the 'Bonapi(a)ne?' grip, but he is deadly accurate and can get some goo distance.

Im actually starting to fall off most higher speed stuff with the exceptions of a few for max d and superb overstability in headwinds for max d.
Old 06-12-2012, 06:20 PM
Eagle Member

I don't have anything in my bag past speed 10....
Old 06-12-2012, 06:26 PM
Par Member

Courses Played: 15
Ditch 'em!
Not throwing anything faster than speed 8 myself.
What I might loose in distance I take back in consistency.
Old 06-12-2012, 06:31 PM
Birdie Member