#1  
Old 07-29-2012, 09:29 AM
peabody's Avatar
peabody peabody is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Western Kentucky
Years Playing: 11.7
Courses Played: 46
Posts: 1,047
discs hitting your bag.

We were at teepad #2 and waiting to tee off. A guy threw from tee #1 and his disc scooted right past us and ended up a foot away from #2 teepad.
Barely missed my bag by a few inches. No OB on hole one so teepad #2 is in play. I was told by an ADV player in our group that you will get a two stroke penalty if another players disc hits your bag. Is this a real rule?
Our bags were within 5 foot of the #2 teepad. How is this rule fair if your group is waiting to tee off the next hole?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-29-2012, 09:42 AM
Jay Dub's Avatar
Jay Dub Jay Dub is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW Ohio
Years Playing: 34.7
Courses Played: 81
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,387
Send a message via Yahoo to Jay Dub
If it was done intentionally then the player who left the bag there gets a 2 stroke penalty.

Quote:
803.07 Interference:A. A thrown disc that hits another player, spectator, or animal shall be played where it comes to rest. A thrown disc that is intentionally deflected or was caught and moved shall be marked as close as possible to the point of contact, as determined by a majority of the group or an official. Alternatively, for intentional interference only, the thrower has the option of taking a re-throw. Players shall not stand or leave their equipment where interference with the flight or path of a disc could easily occur. The away player may require other players to mark their lies or move their equipment before making a throw if the player believes that either could interfere with his or her throw.

C. Any player who consciously alters the course of a thrown disc, or consciously moves or obscures another player’s thrown disc at rest or a marker disc, other than by the action of a competitively thrown disc or in the process of identification, shall receive two penalty throws, without a warning, if observed by any two players or an official.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2012, 09:45 AM
peabody's Avatar
peabody peabody is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Western Kentucky
Years Playing: 11.7
Courses Played: 46
Posts: 1,047
Well I did intentionally put my bag down to get ready to throw the next hole.
Why are all these rules so damn vague?hahaha
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-29-2012, 09:52 AM
GT Chris's Avatar
GT Chris GT Chris is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Years Playing: 9.5
Courses Played: 88
Posts: 392
Did you put your bag down there because you were waiting to tee off nearby, or because you wanted to interfere with the other guy's disc?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-29-2012, 09:56 AM
Jay Dub's Avatar
Jay Dub Jay Dub is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW Ohio
Years Playing: 34.7
Courses Played: 81
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,387
Send a message via Yahoo to Jay Dub
Quote:
Originally Posted by GT Chris View Post
Did you put your bag down there because you were waiting to tee off nearby, or because you wanted to interfere with the other guy's disc?
That's the question and the answer is most probably no.
Now if you threw your bag in the air trying to hit a disc in flight, then you get a 2 stroke penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-29-2012, 10:03 AM
peabody's Avatar
peabody peabody is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Western Kentucky
Years Playing: 11.7
Courses Played: 46
Posts: 1,047
So you are saying there would be no penalty?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-29-2012, 10:10 AM
Jay Dub's Avatar
Jay Dub Jay Dub is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW Ohio
Years Playing: 34.7
Courses Played: 81
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,387
Send a message via Yahoo to Jay Dub
Hypothetical: Climo is in the lead group. Climo puts his bag down behind the tee he's on. Some one in the group behind him throws a bad shot and it hits Climo's bag.

Why would Climo get 2 strokes for that?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-29-2012, 11:10 AM
mashnut's Avatar
mashnut mashnut is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Temecula, CA
Years Playing: 12.8
Courses Played: 817
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 14,020
No penalty for unintentional interference, with your self or your equipment.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-29-2012, 12:30 PM
bombmk bombmk is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Courses Played: 2
Posts: 586
The idea two strokes for hitting another players equipment is something that I think has drifted over from ball golf. But it is not in the disc golf rules as such. Unless, as stated above, the group deems that a player put or left it in the way on purpose. It is the away players responsibility to ask to have stuff moved if he has reason to believe he can hit it.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 07-29-2012, 12:54 PM
PhillyMatt's Avatar
PhillyMatt PhillyMatt is offline
Broad Street Bully
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Years Playing: 3.7
Courses Played: 27
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Dub View Post
That's the question and the answer is most probably no.
Now if you threw your bag in the air trying to hit a disc in flight, then you get a 2 stroke penalty.
There goes my strategy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.