#1  
Old 09-24-2016, 10:21 PM
BrotherDave's Avatar
BrotherDave BrotherDave is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Years Playing: 9.2
Courses Played: 129
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 12,638
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Has this ever happened?

Suppose a person not playing a tournament is watching a tourney round and notices a disc thrown looks really familiar. He goes over there, examines it, and sure enough it's one of his recently (< 1 yr) lost discs with his contact info on it. The tourney player had found the disc* and effectively stole it by not trying to return it. The spectator reclaims his property, reads the thrower the riot act and storms off. Has anyone ever witnessed something like this and what's the rule procedure for a disc used in play being taken away by a 3rd party?

Quote:
804.03 C: A thrown disc at rest that has been moved shall be replaced to its approximate position (see 802.02.E). A marker disc at rest that has been moved shall be replaced to mark the approximate lie (see 802.03.F).
Closest I can think of, but if it was removed unseen from all the players then an approximate position would be hard to determine.


*for the sake of inevitable thread drift let's assume the disc was found easily i.e. not a pond rescue so tourney guy is guilty of laziness at least.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2016, 10:27 PM
cleav cleav is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think of random stuff when I'm stoned too.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2016, 10:44 PM
BionicRib's Avatar
BionicRib BionicRib is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Years Playing: 16.4
Courses Played: 194
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,137
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Videos or nothing anybody says in this thread is true...

....no hippos please
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2016, 11:18 PM
Broken Shoulder's Avatar
Broken Shoulder Broken Shoulder is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Minnesota
Years Playing: 7.3
Courses Played: 19
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

You're not going to be able to replace the exact disc in its approximate location if the dude leaves with it. My first thought would be that it would be declared a lost disc. So apply that rule and then call him a douche, I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-24-2016, 11:31 PM
7ontheline's Avatar
7ontheline 7ontheline is online now
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Midtown Memphis, TN
Years Playing: 6
Courses Played: 48
Posts: 920
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cleav View Post
I think of random stuff when I'm stoned too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broken Shoulder View Post
You're not going to be able to replace the exact disc in its approximate location if the dude leaves with it. My first thought would be that it would be declared a lost disc. So apply that rule and then call him a douche, I guess.
Where is that "thanks" button for these two
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-24-2016, 11:59 PM
BrotherDave's Avatar
BrotherDave BrotherDave is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Years Playing: 9.2
Courses Played: 129
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 12,638
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cleav View Post
I think of random stuff when I'm stoned too.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Post reported for drug talk.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Yesterday, 12:42 AM
7ontheline's Avatar
7ontheline 7ontheline is online now
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Midtown Memphis, TN
Years Playing: 6
Courses Played: 48
Posts: 920
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Another ridiculous [thanks] for the LOL, well "you started it"

gotta be in the running for thread of the year

Suppose an owl swooped down and dropped your throw in the basket. Is it an ace, or a warning for throwing an illegal disc given the owl's talons pierced the flight plate?

Last edited by 7ontheline; Yesterday at 12:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Yesterday, 01:48 AM
Steve West Steve West is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 42.4
Courses Played: 260
Posts: 2,339
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

"801.01 A. If any point in dispute is not covered by the rules, the decision shall be made in accordance with fairness. Often a logical extension of the closest existing rule or the principles embodied in these rules will provide guidance for determining fairness."

I would suggest playing it two ways provisionally and let the TD decide which rule is closest to the situation.

Provisional string of throws #1) Re-throw from the previous lie as if it were a lost disc, to cover:

"804.05 D D. If it is discovered, prior to the completion of the tournament, that a player's disc that was declared lost had been removed or taken, then the player shall have two throws removed from the score for that hole."

Provisional string of throws #2) Replace the thrown disc with another disc to cover either

"802.02 E If the thrown disc has moved after it first came to rest on the in-bounds playing surface, it shall be replaced to its approximate position."

or

"804.03 C. A thrown disc at rest that has been moved shall be replaced to its approximate position (see 802.02.E)." is the closest existing rule.

I would think marking the approximate lie with a marker for case 2 would also be fair.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Yesterday, 01:55 AM
Steve West Steve West is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 42.4
Courses Played: 260
Posts: 2,339
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7ontheline View Post
Another ridiculous [thanks] for the LOL, well "you started it"

gotta be in the running for thread of the year

Suppose an owl swooped down and dropped your throw in the basket. Is it an ace, or a warning for throwing an illegal disc given the owl's talons pierced the flight plate?
No, no, and no.

"802.02 Establishing Position
A. The thrown disc establishes a position where it first comes to rest.
B. A disc is considered to be at rest once it is no longer moving as a result of the momentum imparted by the throw. "

While it is true that

"801.02 C. A disc which is cracked or perforated is illegal."

the violating act is throwing it.

"E. A player who throws an illegal disc during play shall receive two penalty throws, without a warning."

The middle "no" is because there is no way for a warning to be part of the call.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old Yesterday, 02:51 AM
maskedavenger maskedavenger is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Jokela, Southern Finland
Posts: 604
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

For the owl business the crux is if the disc stopped moving before the owl grabbed it. If not, then ace.

We had a fox carry one of our LED discs around a few years back. We were looking at it wondering thats gotta be the strangest roll ever, until it could not be a roll by its own force anymore.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.