#1  
Old 03-31-2013, 05:44 AM
jenb's Avatar
jenb jenb is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: DFW TX USA
Years Playing: 9.2
Courses Played: 82
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,357
Disc moved before marking lie

I seem to recall a rule that an OB disc cannot be retrieved before the lie is marked, but I can't find it in the new rules.

Also, what if the disc is not OB, but within one meter of the OB line and it is picked up before the mini is placed a meter from the line?

An unrelated question is seconding of calls in doubles tournaments. Given the propensity for collusion, is a partner allowed to second calls on foot faults, for example? If so, and if the partner refuses to second a first foot fault call in order to burn the warning without allowing a rethrow, can someone on the other team second the call? What if there is disagreement between the two teams whether it was called promptly? Benefit of the doubt goes to the player? If that's the case, no foot fault call could be enforced as long as the offending team sticks together and disputes that it was called promptly. How do you handle foot faults and other situations in doubles play?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2013, 07:28 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 19.2
Courses Played: 115
Posts: 7,537
As to the first 2 questions, I don't recall any rules to these effects.

The third question is interesting. It probably goes further, to any rule that is a group decision. Doubles, with 2 teams on a card, is very much like singles, with a 2-player card. Collusion between two partners, or an unresolvable split between two teams, certainly seems possible.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2013, 07:38 AM
JAKE master's Avatar
JAKE master JAKE master is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Woods of CT
Years Playing: 6
Courses Played: 31
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,423
i thought it was odd in a kc wide open tourny, brad williams picks up his disc, brings it to his bag, graps his mini, and proceeds to just toss it on the ground. is that normal?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2013, 08:41 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 19.2
Courses Played: 115
Posts: 7,537
Other than asking the other players if they agree with the spot, yes.

Usually you determine where the disc crossed out-of-bounds, as best you can. Where the disc ended up may or may not matter in that determination.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-31-2013, 08:55 AM
JAKE master's Avatar
JAKE master JAKE master is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Woods of CT
Years Playing: 6
Courses Played: 31
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,423
in this case it was not even ob, just hit some early tree and he was mad
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-31-2013, 11:33 PM
ChrisKramer's Avatar
ChrisKramer ChrisKramer is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Courses Played: 25
Posts: 155
Not normal, but, as long as the group agrees with (or doesn't dispute) the spot, it would be allowed.
Reply With Quote
 

  #7  
Old 04-01-2013, 08:49 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 16.7
Courses Played: 119
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 2,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAKE master View Post
i thought it was odd in a kc wide open tourny, brad williams picks up his disc, brings it to his bag, graps his mini, and proceeds to just toss it on the ground. is that normal?
Not normal and not legal.

The old rule (803.03 A), which is what he would have been playing that tournament under, stated that "[a]fter each throw, the thrown disc must be left where it came to rest until the lie is established by the placing of a marker."

The new 2013 rule omits that line, but it still states (802.03 B) "a mini marker disc may be used to mark the lie by placing it on the playing surface, touching the front of the thrown disc on the line of play." If the disc is picked up before the marker is placed, then the marker can't be placed to touch the front of the thrown disc.

In either case (old rules or current rules), a marking violation results in a warning in the first instance. After that, it is subject to a one-throw penalty for each violation. So if it was a one-off instance, the warning is called and play continues no harm, no foul. If a player is making a habit of it, it's a problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.