#31  
Old 07-23-2012, 04:39 PM
Discette's Avatar
Discette Discette is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rancho Cucamonga
Years Playing: 18.3
Courses Played: 242
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Bad View Post
It opens up the possibility of people flipping their discs over multiple times, accidentally or otherwise. Having a fixed position for your lie, either with a mini or the disc itself, solves that.
Ding! Ding! Ding! We have a winner!

Years ago, the rule to use a mini marker was drafted by the PDGA because a certain player (who shall remain nameless) was known to do this.
He would get to his disc and flip it. Then flip it again when it was his turn to throw. It was difficult to prove cheating, so the new rule helped.

The rule was changed most recently to allow players to stand behind lie without marking (or flipping) for "speed of play".
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 07-24-2012, 02:09 AM
gvan's Avatar
gvan gvan is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Years Playing: 6.6
Courses Played: 112
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 300
The One Nation Under Par chart is wrong. It specifies "Line Of Play" but your foot must break the line behind your mini from the perspective of the basket, which is possibly not the line of play.

Nitpicker out!
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 07-24-2012, 04:03 AM
bombmk bombmk is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Courses Played: 2
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by gvan View Post
The One Nation Under Par chart is wrong. It specifies "Line Of Play" but your foot must break the line behind your mini from the perspective of the basket, which is possibly not the line of play.

Nitpicker out!
Nitpicker in:

http://www.pdga.com/rules/800-definitions

Line of Play: The imaginary line on the playing surface extending from the center of the target through the center of the marker disc and beyond. This line has no thickness; therefore one support point must be directly behind the center of the marker.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 07-25-2012, 12:21 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 40.6
Courses Played: 190
Posts: 1,398
A mandatory can "bend" the line of play away from the target. That's the ONLY time the line of play is not to the target.

803.12 Mandatories: ... D. When marking the lie, if the line of play does not pass the correct side of the mandatory, then the mandatory itself shall be considered the hole for the application of all rules regarding stance, markers, obstacles, and relief. For the purposes of taking a legal stance, the mandatory object which has not yet been passed, and is nearest the tee, will be considered to be the hole.

The lie is still in line with the line of play.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 07-25-2012, 07:16 PM
bombmk bombmk is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Courses Played: 2
Posts: 586
As 803.12 says the mandatory is to be considered the target in those cases. So the line does not bend away from the target. The target moves.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 07-25-2012, 07:40 PM
Tiny's Avatar
Tiny Tiny is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Crowley, Texas
Years Playing: 2.8
Courses Played: 34
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,762
Can I just use another disc instead of a tiny little marker? Isn't my foot going to be in the same spot either way?

Correct me if I'm wrong, just asking.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 07-25-2012, 07:55 PM
bombmk bombmk is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Courses Played: 2
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erthbndr View Post
Can I just use another disc instead of a tiny little marker? Isn't my foot going to be in the same spot either way?

Correct me if I'm wrong, just asking.
The rules says you can't.

Obviously to avoid any "confusion" as to whether you have already marked or not.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 07-25-2012, 08:44 PM
joegraham's Avatar
joegraham joegraham is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Francisco
Years Playing: 30.6
Courses Played: 94
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 653
Just leave the disc on the ground and use that as your marker. I never use a mini if I don't have to mark OB or if it's up in a tree. One less time to bend over for these old bones. I carry two putters so I don't mark a missed putt, just step up with my backup.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 07-25-2012, 09:01 PM
Captain Bad's Avatar
Captain Bad Captain Bad is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Years Playing: 16.6
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erthbndr View Post
Can I just use another disc instead of a tiny little marker? Isn't my foot going to be in the same spot either way?

Correct me if I'm wrong, just asking.
No. You can only use a mini -- the specifications for which are defined in Rule 802.02 -- or the thrown disc as your marker (see Rule 803.03A). However, if you need to relocate your lie (taking 1m relief from the OB line, for example) then you MUST use a mini (803.03B).
Reply With Quote
 

  #40  
Old 07-25-2012, 09:06 PM
Captain Bad's Avatar
Captain Bad Captain Bad is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Years Playing: 16.6
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by joegraham View Post
Just leave the disc on the ground and use that as your marker. I never use a mini if I don't have to mark OB or if it's up in a tree. One less time to bend over for these old bones. I carry two putters so I don't mark a missed putt, just step up with my backup.
But sometimes it works in your favor to use a mini.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.