Disc Golf Store
Old 08-02-2012, 11:01 PM

Why are my discs finishing right

First off, i am a beginner (been playing seriously for about a month). I recently purchased a 168 dx teebird and a 169 dx valk. They used to always finish left, even when thrown with slight anhyzer. When i played today, my throws were all finishing right. If i threw straight, it would start straight and after about 100 feet turn to the right. If i threw an anhyzer, it would follow the line and keep going right without fading back. Is this happening because of my form, or because the discs are now broken in, or could there be some other cause?
Old 08-02-2012, 11:07 PM
Par Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by danakabeaver View Post
First off, i am a beginner (been playing seriously for about a month). I recently purchased a 168 dx teebird and a 169 dx valk. They used to always finish left, even when thrown with slight anhyzer. When i played today, my throws were all finishing right. If i threw straight, it would start straight and after about 100 feet turn to the right. If i threw an anhyzer, it would follow the line and keep going right without fading back. Is this happening because of my form, or because the discs are now broken in, or could there be some other cause?
This is a very broad questions that will get very broad answers. Judging by your experience alone, I'd guess it's due to wrist roll.

How far are you throwing?
Old 08-02-2012, 11:09 PM
Birdie Member

Years Playing: 3.1
Courses Played: 14
It could be a combination of both.

If they're broken in a lot (lots of nicks and warping), it's far more likely that they're simply super understable.

Though since the TB is doing the same thing as the Valk, it may also be your form. You'd have to post a video for true diagnosis, but OAT will cause what you're experiencing. Look for disc flutter--it's a good indicator of OAT.
Old 08-02-2012, 11:14 PM