#1  
Old 04-26-2013, 12:20 PM
dashiellx's Avatar
dashiellx dashiellx is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Baltimore
Years Playing: 2.5
Courses Played: 13
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 999
Is this a Foot Fault?

At 12 minutes, Barry Schultz has a run up to his second throw. It looks to me like his plant foot actually lands on his marker disc. (tried getting this video to start at 12 minutes, but can't seem to get it to work)

Something went wrong. Please make sure you added the video correctly. Click here to see how YouTube videos should be embedded. There could also be a technical issue that's not your fault. Click here to view the video on YouTube's site. If this link doesn't work, you did something wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2013, 12:22 PM
dashiellx's Avatar
dashiellx dashiellx is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Baltimore
Years Playing: 2.5
Courses Played: 13
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 999
Here's a direct link: http://youtu.be/Be_IxnTFWwY?t=12m0s
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2013, 12:25 PM
Dave242's Avatar
Dave242 Dave242 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lake Forest, IL
Years Playing: 20.2
Courses Played: 366
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 4,345
Yes, its a foot fault. You should call in to the PDGA and see if you can get him DQ'd like was tried at the Masters with Tiger Woods.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-26-2013, 12:26 PM
moose-mdg's Avatar
moose-mdg moose-mdg is offline
""Supporting The Legacy""
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: north carolina
Years Playing: 9.3
Courses Played: 31
Posts: 2,592
yes his foot is on the disc
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-26-2013, 12:27 PM
dashiellx's Avatar
dashiellx dashiellx is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Baltimore
Years Playing: 2.5
Courses Played: 13
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave242 View Post
Yes, its a foot fault. You should call in to the PDGA and see if you can get him DQ'd like was tried at the Masters with Tiger Woods.
LOL. I'm not that much of a douche. I was just curious.

It would be a one stroke penalty correct?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-26-2013, 12:29 PM
Teebird Elvis's Avatar
Teebird Elvis Teebird Elvis is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Years Playing: 9.2
Courses Played: 20
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 150
Yes, definite foot fault.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-26-2013, 12:30 PM
Dave242's Avatar
Dave242 Dave242 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lake Forest, IL
Years Playing: 20.2
Courses Played: 366
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 4,345
It looks like even if he would have been a half inch back and not touched his marker/disc, it would (might) have still been a foot fault as he appears to be too far right when you consider that the basket is around the corner to the right and the line of play is to the basket (or Mando) rather than down the fairway.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-26-2013, 12:37 PM
Dave242's Avatar
Dave242 Dave242 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lake Forest, IL
Years Playing: 20.2
Courses Played: 366
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 4,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by dashiellx View Post
It would be a one stroke penalty correct?
http://www.pdga.com/rules/official-r...-from-a-stance

802.04 Throwing from a Stance

A player must choose the stance that will result in the least movement of any part of any obstacle that is a permanent or integral part of the course. Once a legal stance is taken, the player may not move an obstacle in any way in order to make room for a throwing motion. It is legal for a player's throwing motion to cause incidental movement of an obstacle.

When the disc is released, a player must:

Have at least one supporting point that is in contact with the lie; and,

Have no supporting point in contact with the marker disc or any object (including the playing surface) closer to the target than the rear edge of the marker disc; and,

Have all supporting points in-bounds.
Supporting point contact with or beyond the marker disc is permitted after the disc is released, except when putting.

Putting: Any throw from within 10 meters of the target, as measured from the rear of the marker disc to the base of the target, is a putt. Supporting point contact closer to the target than the rear edge of the marker disc after the disc has been released is a stance violation. The player must demonstrate full control of balance before advancing toward the target.

A player shall receive a warning for the first stance violation in the round. Subsequent stance violations in the same round shall incur a one-throw penalty. Stance violations may not be called or seconded by the thrower.

Any throw made from an illegal stance is disregarded. A re-throw must be taken from the original lie, prior to subsequent play by others in the group.


Also of possible interest is this:

801.01 Application of the Rules

http://www.pdga.com/rules/official-r...n-of-the-rules

These rules have been designed to promote fair play for all disc golfers. In using these rules, players shall apply the rule that most directly addresses the situation at hand. If any point in dispute is not covered by the rules, the decision shall be made in accordance with fairness. Often a logical extension of the closest existing rule or the principles embodied in these rules will provide guidance for determining fairness.

Players are expected to call a violation when one has clearly occurred. Calls must be made promptly.

If in doubt, players may attempt to consult an official. If none is available, players have the option of proceeding with provisional throws as described in 804.06.

A player shall not receive a warning for a rules violation unless the rule specifically provides for a warning. Warnings do not carry over from one round to the next round or to a playoff.

A rules violation that results in a warning may be called by any player in the group, or by an official. All players in the group shall be advised of the warning, and it shall be noted on the scorecard.

A rules violation that results in one or more penalty throws may be called by any player in the group, or by an official. If called by a player, it must then be seconded by another player in the group.

Unless otherwise stated, any determination made by the group as a whole shall be made by a majority of the group, or by an official.

A throw or an action that is subject to penalty under more than one rule shall be marked and/or penalized in accordance with the rule that results in the most penalty throws, or, among rules that call for an equal penalty, the rule that was first violated.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-26-2013, 12:58 PM
scarpfish's Avatar
scarpfish scarpfish is offline
Resident Grouch
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brownbackistan
Years Playing: 11.1
Courses Played: 315
Posts: 6,177
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 04-26-2013, 01:05 PM
Norcal's Avatar
Norcal Norcal is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: northern California
Years Playing: 17.8
Courses Played: 56
Posts: 235
Stance violations occur often in our sport although they are rarely called. The rule should either be enforced consistently or changed so that it isn't continually violated. As it stands, the integrity and credibility of our sport suffers.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.