#1  
Old 09-29-2012, 11:35 AM
JRW III JRW III is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cypress, TX
Years Playing: 5.5
Courses Played: 17
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 737
Doubles Payout if the Cali Player Wins

Curious about how some clubs around the country handle the Cali player for entry fee and payout.

1) If the doubles tournament is $10 per person, does the Cali player usually pay the individual rate of $10.

2) Assuming the Cali player only paid the individual rate and the team finishing 1st gets 50% of the pot, if the Cali player won 1st, would he get the full 50% that a team would have gotten or just the 25% that an individual would have gotten.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2012, 11:36 AM
prerube's Avatar
prerube prerube is offline
The Man, the Myth, the Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Clinton, MD
Years Playing: 7.3
Courses Played: 213
Posts: 11,208
If the cali player wants extra throws he will pay double and get the same prize as a doubles team
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-29-2012, 11:53 AM
Todd Wiley's Avatar
Todd Wiley Todd Wiley is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alpena, MI
Years Playing: 5.5
Courses Played: 17
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,319
prerube is spot on, around my parts, a cali player has to pay double to be able to win 100% of whatever place prize they finish... If the Cali player only pays once, then they only earn 50% of whatever place prize they finish.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2012, 12:01 PM
jenb's Avatar
jenb jenb is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: DFW TX USA
Years Playing: 9.2
Courses Played: 82
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,352
Around here, if the cali player pays double, he also gets to trow every shot twice and take the best, instead of only one shot per hole. Not sure about the payout though.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2012, 12:04 PM
prerube's Avatar
prerube prerube is offline
The Man, the Myth, the Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Clinton, MD
Years Playing: 7.3
Courses Played: 213
Posts: 11,208
We do not play every shot twice.
i think it was 1 rethrow on a par 3, 2 on a par 4 and 3 redo's on a par 5.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-29-2012, 12:09 PM
GordEzo GordEzo is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Whistler , 2010 Winter Olympics
Years Playing: 4.3
Courses Played: 27
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 244
Cali ?

I just brought this up at last doubles , and everyone looked at me like I was on fire !
No one could grasp the concept that the single player should pay twice if he's throwing twice .
Guess I should show up late for double throws ....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-29-2012, 12:10 PM
rocthecourse rocthecourse is online now
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: WI (near Il border)
Years Playing: 7.5
Courses Played: 41
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,335
The only time you should allow a cali is random draw. If it is BYOP then you should have to have a partner.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-29-2012, 12:10 PM
Todd Wiley's Avatar
Todd Wiley Todd Wiley is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alpena, MI
Years Playing: 5.5
Courses Played: 17
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by GordEzo View Post
I just brought this up at last doubles , and everyone looked at me like I was on fire !
No one could grasp the concept that the single player should pay twice if he's throwing twice .
Guess I should show up late for double throws ....
It's alright, you are in Canada and a lot of things we do in the U.S. confuse you folks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-29-2012, 12:13 PM
rocthecourse rocthecourse is online now
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: WI (near Il border)
Years Playing: 7.5
Courses Played: 41
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,335
Just to double check you talking about a tournament or just random draw?
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 09-29-2012, 12:35 PM
mashnut's Avatar
mashnut mashnut is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Temecula, CA
Years Playing: 12.5
Courses Played: 815
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 13,693
I would be pretty upset if I showed up to a doubles league, got randomly put in a cali spot, and didn't have a chance to win the whole pot without paying again. All the leagues I've played in, you get one extra throw per hole and are eligible for the entire payout for your place with a single entry fee.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.