#1  
Old 10-10-2012, 12:36 AM
RUSSELL's Avatar
RUSSELL RUSSELL is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: cincinnati
Years Playing: 5.5
Courses Played: 61
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,263
Another "Is this an ace?" thread- with a twist

during a round of 'worse shot' doubles, a player aces a hole from the tee. of course, this shot is not scored since it's 'worst shot', but would you count this as an ace made?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-10-2012, 12:37 AM
whitefedora's Avatar
whitefedora whitefedora is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: pittsburgh, pa
Years Playing: 6.2
Courses Played: 46
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 596
I would.

edit- I've even seen worst shot leagues with an ace pot. Just saying.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2012, 12:38 AM
prerube's Avatar
prerube prerube is offline
The Man, the Myth, the Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Clinton, MD
Years Playing: 7.5
Courses Played: 213
Posts: 11,213
It is an ace.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-2012, 12:39 AM
blind pilot's Avatar
blind pilot blind pilot is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: n.e. ohio
Years Playing: 7.4
Courses Played: 16
Posts: 251
The ace should count,worst shot or not. As soon as it goes in the hole is completed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2012, 12:40 AM
Allurex's Avatar
Allurex Allurex is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kansas City
Years Playing: 5.5
Courses Played: 34
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,881
I think the player who made the Ace should be able to count it on his Ace Total or whatever, but the pairing should still have to play the hole under 'Worst Shot' guidelines.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2012, 12:42 AM
prerube's Avatar
prerube prerube is offline
The Man, the Myth, the Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Clinton, MD
Years Playing: 7.5
Courses Played: 213
Posts: 11,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by blind pilot View Post
The ace should count,worst shot or not. As soon as it goes in the hole is completed.
I agree with blind pilot 100%...and that is rare
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-2012, 02:06 AM
jongoff09's Avatar
jongoff09 jongoff09 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Arkansas
Years Playing: 5.5
Courses Played: 32
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by blind pilot View Post
The ace should count,worst shot or not. As soon as it goes in the hole is completed.
The hole isn't completed in "worst shot." If it was "tough shot" then only one disc has to go in the basket for the hole to be completed, but in "worst shot," both discs have to go in from the same lie for the hole to be completed.

I would call it an ace for the thrower, but its not a 1 on the scorecard under worst shot rules unless the partner also aced the hole.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-10-2012, 02:17 AM
mackgeggie mackgeggie is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ames, Iowa/ Woodstock, IL
Posts: 115
well if one person could ace it, clearly they should both be able to, and that would just solve the whole dilemma
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-10-2012, 02:25 AM
blind pilot's Avatar
blind pilot blind pilot is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: n.e. ohio
Years Playing: 7.4
Courses Played: 16
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by jongoff09 View Post
The hole isn't completed in "worst shot." If it was "tough shot" then only one disc has to go in the basket for the hole to be completed, but in "worst shot," both discs have to go in from the same lie for the hole to be completed.

I would call it an ace for the thrower, but its not a 1 on the scorecard under worst shot rules unless the partner also aced the hole.
Your right it counts in "tough shot",not "worst shot". I wasn't aware there was a difference between the two,until I looked.

I guess we just use the term"worst shot" loosely around here.

Last edited by blind pilot; 10-10-2012 at 02:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 10-10-2012, 03:47 AM
Mattallica's Avatar
Mattallica Mattallica is online now
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Years Playing: 6.2
Courses Played: 101
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,980
what if you are playing cali and your second shot from the tee pad goes in? Can you count it even though your partner threw it in?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.