#231  
Old 10-03-2012, 04:56 PM
sloppydisc's Avatar
sloppydisc sloppydisc is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Years Playing: 5.6
Courses Played: 199
Posts: 5,032
No. But isn't it a fault if you follow through over your lie? I thought you had to throw and maintain a position behind your lie. Am I allowed to take a small run up, launch a throw, and then follow through past my lie on the fairway? Damn! No wonder this game is so tough. I've been doing it wrong.

Ken Climo here I come.
Reply With Quote
  #232  
Old 10-03-2012, 04:57 PM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 19.1
Courses Played: 115
Posts: 7,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by blur View Post
why not include follow through behind your lie?
Huh? If I'm running or stepping up to a full-force throw behind my mini, the only place my body wants to follow-through is in front of my mini.

I'm not clear what's being proposed here---either "stand and deliver", or moving the 10-meter circle out much further? Or I'm just confused. Again.
Reply With Quote
  #233  
Old 10-03-2012, 05:14 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 16.6
Courses Played: 116
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 1,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by sloppydisc View Post
No. But isn't it a fault if you follow through over your lie? I thought you had to throw and maintain a position behind your lie. Am I allowed to take a small run up, launch a throw, and then follow through past my lie on the fairway? Damn! No wonder this game is so tough. I've been doing it wrong.

Ken Climo here I come.
Yes, you are allowed to follow through anywhere outside the 10-meter circle.

The rule book isn't that lengthy a read, really.
Reply With Quote
  #234  
Old 10-03-2012, 05:28 PM
blur blur is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Years Playing: 20.6
Courses Played: 15
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidSauls View Post
Huh? If I'm running or stepping up to a full-force throw behind my mini, the only place my body wants to follow-through is in front of my mini.
No, I'm proposing that at any point on any shot you should never cross the line.. it might mean you need to take your shot a few feet early to compensate for your follow through.
Reply With Quote
  #235  
Old 10-03-2012, 06:17 PM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 19.1
Courses Played: 115
Posts: 7,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by blur View Post
No, I'm proposing that at any point on any shot you should never cross the line.. it might mean you need to take your shot a few feet early to compensate for your follow through.
So you'd allow people to release, say, 5' behind the mini as long as, on their follow-through, they ran up to it, but not beyond? 10'? 20'? Could they release 5' behind the mini and not run up to it? This could be advantageous on wooded courses. But it would definitely be easy to call.
Reply With Quote
  #236  
Old 10-03-2012, 06:38 PM
mashnut's Avatar
mashnut mashnut is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Temecula, CA
Years Playing: 12.4
Courses Played: 813
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 13,595
There are definitely some spots I've been in where throwing from 20' behind my lie would have saved me at least a stroke, I can make it look like I have a 20' follow through...

In all seriousness, I fail to see the issue with a follow through beyond your lie, I've seen lots of people who don't hit the exact spot behind their lie, but none who step in front of the lie before releasing on a fairways shot, seems like a non-problem that doesn't need fixing.
Reply With Quote
  #237  
Old 10-03-2012, 06:59 PM
BrotherDave's Avatar
BrotherDave BrotherDave is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Years Playing: 7
Courses Played: 99
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by sloppydisc View Post
No. But isn't it a fault if you follow through over your lie? I thought you had to throw and maintain a position behind your lie. Am I allowed to take a small run up, launch a throw, and then follow through past my lie on the fairway? Damn! No wonder this game is so tough. I've been doing it wrong.

Ken Climo here I come.
Yeah, now stop calling me for foot faults you bastard!
Reply With Quote
  #238  
Old 10-03-2012, 07:00 PM
juju's Avatar
juju juju is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Years Playing: 17.3
Courses Played: 58
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 1,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
Nope. New rules should be tested at the biggest events if they're intended to solve perceived rules problems. If it works or doesn't work there then that knowledge can extend to lower events. For example, the sudden death rules in the NFL were first tried in the playoffs and have now moved to regular season games.
Nope, NFL looked silly testing rules in the playoffs as well.
Reply With Quote
  #239  
Old 10-03-2012, 07:10 PM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 19.1
Courses Played: 115
Posts: 7,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by mashnut View Post
.....seems like a non-problem that doesn't need fixing.
That'd be my feeling about this whole thread. If I was given Absolute Power to remake the rulebook---a mistake the PDGA hasn't even hinted at making, by the way---I'd have a lot to do before I ever got around to worrying about jump-putts or Feldberg-walking-putts.
Reply With Quote
 

  #240  
Old 10-03-2012, 07:14 PM
blur blur is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Years Playing: 20.6
Courses Played: 15
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidSauls View Post
So you'd allow people to release, say, 5' behind the mini as long as, on their follow-through, they ran up to it, but not beyond? 10'? 20'? Could they release 5' behind the mini and not run up to it? This could be advantageous on wooded courses. But it would definitely be easy to call.
20', 10'.. that may be a bit much, but a designated area behind the disc could offer the opportunity to shoot before your lie with follow-through is what I'm talking about.

It just seems that since the sport has become more and more competitive, people are pushing the rules harder too. Therefore rules must become stricter and more defined....

HENCE THIS DISCUSSION where people are allowed to have varying opinions allowing other options to be considered in rulings.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.