#1  
Old 10-05-2012, 03:50 PM
Jaysen's Avatar
Jaysen Jaysen is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: soCaL
Years Playing: 26.1
Courses Played: 18
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 39
PDGA OB

Did the rule change?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-05-2012, 03:56 PM
JReynolds JReynolds is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tri-Cities, WA
Courses Played: 23
Posts: 502
No, why would you think it did?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-2012, 04:08 PM
Jaysen's Avatar
Jaysen Jaysen is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: soCaL
Years Playing: 26.1
Courses Played: 18
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 39
In the US Disc golf Champions On a OB throw they have to throw over from the spot they threw from.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2012, 04:15 PM
wake911 wake911 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 13.4
Courses Played: 44
Posts: 1,181
TD can do what they want, they removed the penalty shot, and just a rethrow with no penalty shot, just the shot you used to throw OB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-05-2012, 05:01 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 16.8
Courses Played: 119
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 2,316
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaysen View Post
In the US Disc golf Champions On a OB throw they have to throw over from the spot they threw from.
Special exemption just for the USDGC. Although they didn't need it. All they had to do was call all OB a bunCR instead, which is allowed as a special condition. They've done it in the past on select holes, now it's on all holes.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-05-2012, 05:45 PM
KDFrosty's Avatar
KDFrosty KDFrosty is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Years Playing: 2.3
Courses Played: 27
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 424
Yup, re-throw without a stroke penalty for entire USDGC.
McBeth had 9 re-throws in his first round alone I believe.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-05-2012, 06:03 PM
Jax11's Avatar
Jax11 Jax11 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Years Playing: 5.4
Courses Played: 97
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 763
At OP: I believe there are now 4 different general ways of playing out of bounds, at least that I know of

Point of Exit - The one we all are used to, play your next shot from where your OB shot was last in bounds and receive a 1 throw penalty.

Drop Zone - Any throw on a given hole that goes OB, the next throw shall be played from a designated drop zone with a 1 throw penalty.

Stroke (Throw) and Distance - Every shot that goes out of bounds is played from the previous lie with a 1 throw penalty. Stroke (Throw) = OB penalty throw. Distance = playing from previous lie.

Distance OB - All OB throws are subsequently played from players previous lie with no throw penalty.

I believe they are playing for the majority Distance OB style at USDGC.

Also, I know there are variants of each of the styles I pointed out, for example a TD may designate for a certain hole that you play stroke and distance for your first tee shot then any subsequent OB throws are played in the "point of exit" style.

Hope this helps explain the OB.

Someone correct me if I am wrong so we get correct info out there on the interwebz.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-05-2012, 06:47 PM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.6
Courses Played: 587
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,808
The waiver was needed to call this year's USDGC rule an OB rule. It's really Special Condition rule 804.01B applied everywhere, sometimes called the extreme buncr rule. The only waiver really needed is allowing players to get one meter relief from these Special Conditions areas because that's not directly in the rulebook and needed to be specified. (In other words, there's no automatic 1 meter relief from casual hazards, you normally just get to the edge.)

Last edited by Cgkdisc; 10-05-2012 at 06:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-05-2012, 08:14 PM
Discwrangler's Avatar
Discwrangler Discwrangler is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by KDFrosty View Post
Yup, re-throw without a stroke penalty for entire USDGC.
McBeth had 9 re-throws in his first round alone I believe.
Wow, 9 errant throws in one round used to be a bad thing. Tournament has gone soft.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 10-05-2012, 09:09 PM
flash86 flash86 is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Camarillo, CA
Years Playing: 6.8
Courses Played: 45
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 344
Agreed. Last time pros played in 2010, it was penalty stroke plus distance for going OB and a bunch of them complained. They went back to the "soft" BUNCR rule this year so their feelings wouldn't get hurt. If you don't want to re-throw with a penalty stroke added, then don't throw OB.

If the ball golf pros complained about the heavy rough at the US Open, do you think the USGA would cut the grass for them so they could have lower scores? NO.

The additional penalty increases overall scores and a lot of guys were upset about not being able to shoot -15.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Discwrangler View Post
Wow, 9 errant throws in one round used to be a bad thing. Tournament has gone soft.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.