#1  
Old 03-09-2013, 09:02 PM
geoloseth's Avatar
geoloseth geoloseth is online now
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North DFW
Courses Played: 44
Posts: 126
Holed Out??

During a tournament round my group noticed this basket and thought it was unusual, but it brought up a question. Could you really hole out without being above the basket. I snapped the picture afterword. Note: the disc is not touching the pole, it is completely supported by the chain assembly. As I read in the new rules booklet that is all that is required to hole out.

What's the verdict - yes or no?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20130309_141156.jpg (152.0 KB, 95 views)
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-2013, 09:07 PM
BigSky's Avatar
BigSky BigSky is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Years Playing: 3.6
Courses Played: 1
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,017
Without seeing the rule book, I'm gonna say no. It must be between the basket and top part of the chains.

Here's the rule:

Quote:
Basket Targets: In order to hole out, the thrower must release the disc and it must come to rest supported by the chains and/or the inner cylinder (bottom and inside wall) of the tray. It may be additionally supported by the pole. A disc that enters the target below the top of the tray or above the bottom of the chain support is not holed out.

Last edited by BigSky; 03-09-2013 at 09:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-09-2013, 09:10 PM
dusty5150's Avatar
dusty5150 dusty5150 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada, Eh.
Years Playing: 16.8
Courses Played: 63
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 952
A.Basket Targets: In order to hole out, the thrower must release the disc and it must come to rest supported by the chains and/or the inner cylinder (bottom and inside wall) of the tray. It may be additionally supported by the pole. A disc that enters the target below the top of the tray or above the bottom of the chain support is not holed out.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-2013, 09:10 PM
geoloseth's Avatar
geoloseth geoloseth is online now
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North DFW
Courses Played: 44
Posts: 126
But that's the thing. The rules book doesn't say anything about being above the basket. It says that it must "come to rest supported by chains and/or the inner cylinder of the tray. So the way that I take it - chains or basket...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-09-2013, 09:11 PM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.7
Courses Played: 591
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,932
Since it's not a PDGA Approved target with the extended chains, it's up to the TD or players in the group to determine the legal ways a disc can hole out on that target. However, the Holing Out rule 802.05 would indicate that a disc that enters the target below the top of the tray is not holed out. It looks like that's the case here.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-09-2013, 09:11 PM
jongoff09's Avatar
jongoff09 jongoff09 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Arkansas
Years Playing: 5.5
Courses Played: 32
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,877
I think this clarifies that it isn't holed out...

A disc that enters the target below the top of the tray or above the bottom of the chain support is not holed out.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-09-2013, 09:12 PM
jcf5083's Avatar
jcf5083 jcf5083 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bexley, OH
Years Playing: 5.2
Courses Played: 19
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by PDGA Rules
Basket Targets: In order to hole out, the thrower must release the disc and it must come to rest supported by the chains and/or the inner cylinder (bottom and inside wall) of the tray. It may be additionally supported by the pole. A disc that enters the target below the top of the tray or above the bottom of the chain support is not holed out.
It does not look good, considering that the disc "entered" the chains from below the basket.

EDIT: Looks like a few fellas beat me to it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-09-2013, 09:12 PM
BigSky's Avatar
BigSky BigSky is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Years Playing: 3.6
Courses Played: 1
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,017
Dang, Dusty beat me to it. Isn't that basket not to standards? No disc should be able to do what that disc did, if the basket is in proper working order, to specs.

Edit: Dang, Chuck beat me to it. I give up.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-09-2013, 09:13 PM
BogeyNoMore's Avatar
BogeyNoMore BogeyNoMore is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Walled Lake, MI
Years Playing: 10.5
Courses Played: 172
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 6,180
Doesn't the PDGA approve catching devices? If so, something tells me that chains that length relative to the basket wouldn't be a PDGA approved catching device. Looks like someone modified those to extend below the tray.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
Since it's not a PDGA Approved target with the extended chains, it's up to the TD or players in the group to determine the legal ways a disc can hole out on that target. However, the Holing Out rule 802.05 would indicate that a disc that enters the target below the top of the tray is not holed out. It looks like that's the case here.
Thought so!


Just out of curiousity, did that disc end up that way from an actual throw, or did was it placed there as a "hypothetical?" Looks like an unlikely position, but I wasn't there.

Last edited by BogeyNoMore; 03-09-2013 at 09:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 03-09-2013, 09:18 PM
geoloseth's Avatar
geoloseth geoloseth is online now
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North DFW
Courses Played: 44
Posts: 126
still playing devil's advocate, it didn't get into the chain assembly by entering through the cylinder wall or through the top of the of the chain assembly. The rule doesn't state that it must come to rest above the lower cylinder wall (bottom of basket).

The way that I see it, as letter of the rules go, the best argument for being not holed out is that the basket does not meet technical standards.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.