Disc Golf Store
  #1  
Old 02-13-2013, 10:45 PM
kerplunk kerplunk is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Years Playing: 6.4
Courses Played: 31
Posts: 968
Spectator distraction

A friend of mine told me this situation came up in a tournament he played this weekend:

Teeing off on a par four with a dogleg left (Manor, TX #17) a spectator came walking around the corner in the middle of his drive. The distraction obviously sucks, but more importantly at that point his main concern was not to hit the spectator. Should he be granted a re-throw?

I have no idea what the correct call on this is, the fair thing seems to be to let him re-throw but I don't remember seeing a precedent for this in the rules.

Thanks for your thoughts!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2013, 10:53 PM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.4
Courses Played: 572
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,598
No rethrow. Play it where it lands. If it hits the spectator, you mark it where the disc lands.

Last edited by Cgkdisc; 02-13-2013 at 10:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2013, 11:47 PM
chrisoz's Avatar
chrisoz chrisoz is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Years Playing: 2.3
Courses Played: 23
Posts: 37
I'd imagine there would be a slippery slope if you allowed a rethrow.

All of the sudden, disc golfers 'round the world are far more "concerned" about spectator's safety, and constantly intentionally shanking their drives to avoid them.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2013, 10:32 AM
BogeyNoMore's Avatar
BogeyNoMore BogeyNoMore is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Walled Lake, MI
Years Playing: 10.2
Courses Played: 163
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 5,963
I agree that while a rethrow seems fair in the above case, doing so would open up an ugly can of worms. Poor form by spectator to be sure. Perhaps lack of control by TD?? bu probably not - I wasn't there, I don't know how foreseable this sort of thing might have been.

In many ways, no different that someone behind the tee box sneezing/coughing/farting, a dog barking, or a random sound at once you're well into your motion. Only thing I can say is maybe spectators need to be warned, but that may not be feasible. Most courses are in public parks where a hiker/walker could innocently pop out onto a course from the woods. Thems the breaks.

Last edited by BogeyNoMore; 02-14-2013 at 10:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2013, 10:51 AM
New013's Avatar
New013 New013 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Years Playing: 4
Courses Played: 136
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 6,726
Send a message via AIM to New013
I was playing dubs at a temp course the day before a tourney once and of course there were all kinds of people just walking through the park. I was up and went in to my reachback and when my head turned backwards there was suddenly a latino woman literally right beside me, i barely missed her on my reach back.

She was completely oblivious to what was going on, even the fact that she just walked a foot from a guy throwing something. She just walked right past me up the fairway to the basket and then started to turn around and come back before we waived her off.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2013, 06:35 PM
Agricolae Agricolae is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: East Carolina
Years Playing: 3.2
Courses Played: 42
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerplunk View Post
... Should he be granted a re-throw?
Only if he missed the guy.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-14-2013, 09:00 PM
jenb's Avatar
jenb jenb is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: DFW TX USA
Years Playing: 9.1
Courses Played: 82
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by BogeyNoMore View Post
In many ways, no different that someone behind the tee box sneezing/coughing/farting, a dog barking, a dgtv commentator joking about the camera zooming in on your ass, or a random sound at once you're well into your motion.
ftfy
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-14-2013, 09:18 PM
BogeyNoMore's Avatar
BogeyNoMore BogeyNoMore is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Walled Lake, MI
Years Playing: 10.2
Courses Played: 163
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 5,963
^ I'm not saying it was right, but every cloud has a silver lining Jen: at least he thought your ass was worth zooming in on.


* yeah, I'm willing to bet the culprtit was a heel.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-15-2013, 01:45 AM
JoakimBL JoakimBL is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Years Playing: 3.4
Courses Played: 8
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 257
If the spectator is there early enough for the player to be concerned about hitting him, I would think you would be able to not throw at all?
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 02-15-2013, 10:06 PM
kerplunk kerplunk is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Years Playing: 6.4
Courses Played: 31
Posts: 968
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agricolae View Post
Only if he missed the guy.
Best answer so far!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.