Disc Golf Store
  #1  
Old 03-20-2013, 01:37 AM
jongoff09's Avatar
jongoff09 jongoff09 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Arkansas
Years Playing: 5.3
Courses Played: 32
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,877
Obstacles in front of lie. Safety Rule?

I have heard this enough that I had to read the rulebook through and through a couple times trying to find it, but I can't. Here are a couple of quotes I have been told recently...one by a TD.

Quote:
It doesn't matter if these branches are behind my lie or not, the new safety rule says I can move them if my follow-through could cause me to step on them
Quote:
The new rules say I can move the branches if I would hit them. It is to make sure that people don't twist an ankle on a follow through or jump putt.
From what I read in the rule book, you can't move anything that isn't at least partially on or behind your lie. People around here seem to think that even if it is totally in front of the lie that it can be moved.

Am I missing something? Or is there a non-rule that has been circulating again? Can you move a tree branch that is in front of the lie, and not on it or in the run-up?

This winter was tough on the trees in my area, and the debris is still all over the courses, so this comes up a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2013, 05:20 AM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.4
Courses Played: 586
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,630
You cannot move anything that is completely in front of your lie except for other players and their equipment/belongings. I suggest handing the rulebook to anyone who tells you otherwise and ask them to show you where moving the twigs or branches fully in front of the lie is allowed. If items are in front of your lie that you might land on or swing your arm into during your follow through, it's your responsibility to back up or stand and deliver in a way that you don't possibly hurt yourself. Or, you can always take a penalty and move back on the line of play as far as you want using the optional relief rule 803.02A.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2013, 02:32 PM
Tiny's Avatar
Tiny Tiny is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Crowley, Texas
Years Playing: 2.5
Courses Played: 34
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
You cannot move anything that is completely in front of your lie except for other players and their equipment/belongings. I suggest handing the rulebook to anyone who tells you otherwise and ask them to show you where moving the twigs or branches fully in front of the lie is allowed. If items are in front of your lie that you might land on or swing your arm into during your follow through, it's your responsibility to back up or stand and deliver in a way that you don't possibly hurt yourself. Or, you can always take a penalty and move back on the line of play as far as you want using the optional relief rule 803.02A.
Much like trees too close to teepads or lies. You can't move the tree, just have to play around it. Anything not affecting your immediate lie, you can't mess with.


I question if there is a long tree limb that is in way of your mini but not behind your lie... What do you do in that situation?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2013, 02:42 PM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.4
Courses Played: 586
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,630
The back edge of your mini is the dividing line between "in front of" and "behind" your lie. Now if the limb is big enough to qualify as a unattached solid object on the ground, you can move your mark back to behind the limb if desired.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-20-2013, 03:13 PM
Van1 Van1 is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Years Playing: 22.3
Courses Played: 17
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
The back edge of your mini is the dividing line between "in front of" and "behind" your lie. Now if the limb is big enough to qualify as a unattached solid object on the ground, you can move your mark back to behind the limb if desired.
So if I mark my disc and a huge root is directly where I would plant my front foot do I have any options? Can I move my mark? I doubt it but just checking.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-20-2013, 03:16 PM
New013's Avatar
New013 New013 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Years Playing: 4.1
Courses Played: 136
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 6,740
Send a message via AIM to New013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Van1 View Post
So if I mark my disc and a huge root is directly where I would plant my front foot do I have any options? Can I move my mark? I doubt it but just checking.
well if the root would be behind your mini then presumably that meant your disc landed on the root and if that is the case you should just play from the back edge of your disc and not mark your lie with a mini.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-20-2013, 03:51 PM
scarpfish's Avatar
scarpfish scarpfish is offline
Resident Grouch
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brownbackistan
Years Playing: 11.2
Courses Played: 315
Posts: 6,262
To me, downed tree debris should always be movable, especially if it comes down during the tournament, which I've seen happen.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-20-2013, 04:04 PM
jsc430's Avatar
jsc430 jsc430 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Years Playing: 13.3
Courses Played: 121
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,350
Can't you remove dead limbs/branches from behind your lie? But nothing in front?

I.e. My disc lands in the middle of the fairway but it lands in a large limb that recently fell. Can i move the limb to have better footing?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-20-2013, 04:13 PM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.4
Courses Played: 586
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,630
Yes. But the limbs behind your lie have to be in your stance or runup. Otherwise, you're not supposed to move debris even if behind your lie and not in your way.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 03-20-2013, 04:19 PM
jsc430's Avatar
jsc430 jsc430 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Years Playing: 13.3
Courses Played: 121
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,350
Ahhh. So if i'm in the rough and there's a dead vine that's restricting my full desired motion/throw then i can't technically move it?

Only if its in the way of my stance/run up?

Thanks for the clarification.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.