#1  
Old 03-05-2013, 09:11 PM
BrotherDave's Avatar
BrotherDave BrotherDave is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Years Playing: 7.1
Courses Played: 100
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,259
Gimmie putt accidentally batted in

1) Say you have a gimmie putt, basically a drop-in, and you somehow manage to dink it off the tray and it caroms back at you. You try to get out of the way but you're a hobbledehoy and somehow you hacky sack that putter back into the basket.

Legal? Still one stroke?

2) Same gimmie putt but somehow it rifles through the chains and comes out the other side and caroms off the inconsiderate guy taking his putter out of the basket during your putt and bounces back into the basket.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2013, 09:42 PM
Agricolae Agricolae is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: East Carolina
Years Playing: 3.3
Courses Played: 42
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 345
#1 could be cloudy. However, I'll tell you that you intentionally deflected your putt and you'll need to mark it where contact was made. Therefore, you're charged a throw for the dink and another to hole out.

#2 Rules are pretty clear on this one. You got lucky and saved a stroke.

Summary: If your putt bounces off of me and goes in, good for you. If your putt bounces off you and goes in, try again. (Yes, the last line (#1) is subject to whether it is intentional or unintentional, but hey, man up and play the game!)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2013, 09:54 PM
sloppydisc's Avatar
sloppydisc sloppydisc is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Years Playing: 5.8
Courses Played: 199
Posts: 5,059
There are NO gimme putts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-05-2013, 10:00 PM
Stankyjahnke's Avatar
Stankyjahnke Stankyjahnke is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lake in the hills, IL
Years Playing: 9.4
Courses Played: 16
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,304
the ol alley-oop basket slam is a staple of my game.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-05-2013, 10:04 PM
BrotherDave's Avatar
BrotherDave BrotherDave is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Years Playing: 7.1
Courses Played: 100
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stankyjahnke View Post
the ol alley-oop basket slam is a staple of my game.
De-cent!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-05-2013, 10:07 PM
tarel's Avatar
tarel tarel is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lehigh Valley
Years Playing: 5.3
Courses Played: 53
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,282
Send a message via Skype™ to tarel
i take my 30 seconds to drop in a gimmie it makes my group lose focus
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-05-2013, 11:50 PM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.4
Courses Played: 586
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,642
1. Unless it's clear that you were interfering, you are just a "person" in the way and the putt counts per: 804.03A A thrown disc that strikes a person or animal is played where it first comes to rest.
2. Same rule as above makes it good.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-05-2013, 11:51 PM
PhillyMatt's Avatar
PhillyMatt PhillyMatt is offline
Broad Street Bully
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Years Playing: 3.4
Courses Played: 27
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrotherDave View Post
De-cent!
Saw what you did there.

Liked it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-06-2013, 10:16 AM
Agricolae Agricolae is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: East Carolina
Years Playing: 3.3
Courses Played: 42
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
1. Unless it's clear that you were interfering, you are just a "person" in the way and the putt counts per: 804.03A A thrown disc that strikes a person or animal is played where it first comes to rest.
2. Same rule as above makes it good.
Chuck ... your quote of the rules makes me wonder if we should be using the previous rule book or the 2013 book ... ??? (I understand that the call on Bro Dave's situation would be the same under both.)
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 03-06-2013, 10:26 AM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.4
Courses Played: 586
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,642
Not sure what you mean? The 2013 rulebook became effective Jan 1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.