#11  
Old 03-18-2013, 05:12 PM
chrishysell's Avatar
chrishysell chrishysell is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Richmond, Va.
Years Playing: 21.5
Courses Played: 188
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,538
this rule has always been interesting to me. If you throw your drive to a spot that is 15 ft from a basket and your missed putt rolls 100ft down a hill and goes out of bounds you can get a 4 by putting from 15ft away again with an OB penalty. If the disc only rolls 99ft and stays in bounds you can still get a 4 by taking a rethrow with a penalty. Although the scores are identical you are penalized in two different ways. It almost appears that the OB isn't as bad as we thought.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-18-2013, 07:30 PM
aardvarkious aardvarkious is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Courses Played: 22
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrishysell View Post
It almost appears that the OB isn't as bad as we thought.
That's a good thing. I don't think OB should be too bad when you hit the basket and end up OB by fluke.

This rule doesn't make OB any easier to swallow when you screw up a drive or an approach (at least in most situations)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-18-2013, 07:48 PM
ForTheGlory ForTheGlory is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joe's Garage
Years Playing: 3.1
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 351
I need to get something straight...

If my missed putt rolls back 100ft and goes OB and I opt for a re-throw do I still count the OB stroke?

Chris, I'm looking at your example and I count...

Example A
Drive (1), missed putt from 15 ft (2) rolls 100 feet ends up OB (3), stroke penalty for re-throwing from same spot (4), finally sinking the putt (5)

But

Example B
Drive (1), missed putt from 15ft (2), rolls 99 ft stays in-bounds, take a stroke penalty and re-throw (3), finally sink the putt (4)

What I'm getting from all this is that if I go OB and re-throw the OB never happened?

I just want to make sure I am understanding this correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-18-2013, 07:53 PM
ForTheGlory ForTheGlory is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joe's Garage
Years Playing: 3.1
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 351
Another quick rules question:

"A few exemptions have been added to the interference rules: interference to prevent injury or to prevent (with the thrower's consent) a disc from becoming lost is allowed."

So my buddy's disc is rolling towards The Cliffs of Insanity and is about to plunge 500ft into oblivion. The thrower allows me to stop his disc before it falls off the face of the earth...

How do I score it?

And

Where do I mark it?

My guess is one stroke penalty and re-throw from the previous lie?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-18-2013, 07:58 PM
jeverett's Avatar
jeverett jeverett is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Eugene, OR
Years Playing: 5.2
Courses Played: 20
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by ForTheGlory View Post
I need to get something straight...

If my missed putt rolls back 100ft and goes OB and I opt for a re-throw do I still count the OB stroke?

Chris, I'm looking at your example and I count...

Example A
Drive (1), missed putt from 15 ft (2) rolls 100 feet ends up OB (3), stroke penalty for re-throwing from same spot (4), finally sinking the putt (5)

But

Example B
Drive (1), missed putt from 15ft (2), rolls 99 ft stays in-bounds, take a stroke penalty and re-throw (3), finally sink the putt (4)

What I'm getting from all this is that if I go OB and re-throw the OB never happened?

I just want to make sure I am understanding this correctly.
I'd have to look up the exact rulebook entry, but I'm pretty sure you'd only get penalized the once, regardless of which option you pick.

Last edited by jeverett; 03-18-2013 at 08:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-18-2013, 08:02 PM
Organicvoodoo's Avatar
Organicvoodoo Organicvoodoo is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 243
So you can pretty much have a molligan from anywhere.
You just get a 1 stroke penalty added.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-18-2013, 08:28 PM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.3
Courses Played: 572
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,582
It's not really a mulligan because you have to count the throw. So it's more like a 2-throw penalty since your score is now 2 more than it was from the same spot. When you rethrow after an OB shot, you're not using the Optional Rethrow penalty but simply using the option within the OB rule that allows you to throw from the previous lie if you choose.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-18-2013, 10:37 PM
ForTheGlory ForTheGlory is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joe's Garage
Years Playing: 3.1
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 351
So then....

Chuck, what about chrishysell's previous post? I'm still confused. Do both scenarios card a 4? Missed putt rolls OB vs missed putt not rolling OB? Then a re-throw.

I thought OB always added an extra stroke.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-18-2013, 10:45 PM
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 25.3
Courses Played: 572
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,582
Same score. In one case, it's a 1-throw OB penalty and player chooses to take their next lie at the previous lie. Player is NOT taking an Optional rethrow. Other case, player takes Optional Rethrow with 1-throw penalty and plays from previous lie. Two different penalties end up throwing from the same location again.
Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 03-18-2013, 10:52 PM
ForTheGlory ForTheGlory is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joe's Garage
Years Playing: 3.1
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 351
Ok, thanks for clearing that up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.