#21  
Old 03-19-2013, 12:21 AM
Psicko's Avatar
Psicko Psicko is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Valley of the sun- Tempe
Years Playing: 10.7
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 540
The trick is to keep your mini marker on the ground until you know if you are going to thow it from the new lie or the previous lie. I recently learned about this rule because a buddy did the same thing. After missing the put, he had a bad roll down the hill and it ended up about 150-75 feet away behind a clump of trees. I wish I knew about this rule before.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-19-2013, 01:54 AM
Captain Bad's Avatar
Captain Bad Captain Bad is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Years Playing: 16.4
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 221
I've used the Optional Re-Throw rule a couple of times. Each was after a terrible shank into the woods. I looked at my lie, determined it would probably take me at least 2 strokes to get out of trouble, and decided a re-throw was the best choice.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-19-2013, 05:05 AM
JoakimBL JoakimBL is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Years Playing: 3.6
Courses Played: 8
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 272
Man a lot of debating on the course could be avoided if more players took the time to read the rule book.
May I encourage everyone not knowin about this rule to do just that? It's really not that long a read.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-19-2013, 09:41 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 16.8
Courses Played: 119
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 2,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psicko View Post
The trick is to keep your mini marker on the ground until you know if you are going to thow it from the new lie or the previous lie. I recently learned about this rule because a buddy did the same thing. After missing the put, he had a bad roll down the hill and it ended up about 150-75 feet away behind a clump of trees. I wish I knew about this rule before.
Leaving the marker on the ground is not necessary in order to re-throw from the previous lie, so the "trick" isn't required.

Quote:
800.02 Definitions
Previous Lie
The lie resulting from the most recent throw, as evidenced by the marker disc or, if the marker disc has been moved, the corresponding approximate lie.
JoakimBL is dead on. The rule book is not that long of a read. It's not like anyone needs to memorize it or anything, but if everyone just read it through once or twice, everyone would be in a better position to not be taken off guard on the course. Or at the very least, wouldn't be left wondering "can he really do that?" when a fellow player utilizes a rule to his advantage.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-19-2013, 10:36 AM
BogeyNoMore's Avatar
BogeyNoMore BogeyNoMore is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Walled Lake, MI
Years Playing: 10.4
Courses Played: 171
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 6,162
Interesting thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1978 View Post
Its best used if your shot rolls way OB or a very short drive kicks you way off the fairway or OB short. If you miss a 15' putt and it rolls 100' OB. Use it. Instead of taking the penalty 100' away you take it 15' away. Probably net you a better score. If you drive and you get a wierd kick but you can jump putt to the fairway do that over the rethrow get yourself a little extra D so you can disc down for your 3rd.
Unless I'm mistaken, how far it goes OB is irrelevant. You can:
a) opt to throw from where it crossed over to OB, or...
b) rethrow from original lie
...with a 1 stroke penalty in either case. Doesn't matter if you landed OB by 10 inches or half a county.

Where this rule can really help you is on a godforsaken throw that doesn't go OB, because your only options are:
a) Play horrible lie (no penalty).
b) rethrow from original spot (with 1 stroke penalty)

Without the OB, there's no option to play from where it crossed over to OB (which may not be that bad).
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-19-2013, 07:05 PM
bombmk bombmk is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Courses Played: 2
Posts: 580
Quote:
Originally Posted by ForTheGlory View Post
Another quick rules question:

"A few exemptions have been added to the interference rules: interference to prevent injury or to prevent (with the thrower's consent) a disc from becoming lost is allowed."

So my buddy's disc is rolling towards The Cliffs of Insanity and is about to plunge 500ft into oblivion. The thrower allows me to stop his disc before it falls off the face of the earth...

How do I score it?

And

Where do I mark it?

My guess is one stroke penalty and re-throw from the previous lie?
Correct.

"
Altering the course of a thrown disc with the consent of the thrower in order to prevent the disc from becoming lost is not punishable interference. Any disc whose course is altered for that reason is considered to be a lost disc.
"

http://www.pdga.com/rules/official-r...3-interference
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-19-2013, 08:31 PM
Johnny Conservative's Avatar
Johnny Conservative Johnny Conservative is offline
Cool dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ashland, KY
Years Playing: 4.3
Courses Played: 19
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 550
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoakimBL View Post
Man a lot of debating on the course could be avoided if more players took the time to read the rule book.
May I encourage everyone not knowin about this rule to do just that? It's really not that long a read.
I am busy...its alot easier to ask someone else. :shrugsmiley:
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-19-2013, 11:01 PM
zenbot's Avatar
zenbot zenbot is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Years Playing: 8.2
Courses Played: 31
Posts: 10,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Leaving the marker on the ground is not necessary in order to re-throw from the previous lie, so the "trick" isn't required.



JoakimBL is dead on. The rule book is not that long of a read. It's not like anyone needs to memorize it or anything, but if everyone just read it through once or twice, everyone would be in a better position to not be taken off guard on the course. Or at the very least, wouldn't be left wondering "can he really do that?" when a fellow player utilizes a rule to his advantage.
I have a copy in a Ziploc in my bag. It's absolutely wonderful when people pull out BS rules.
Reply With Quote
 

  #29  
Old 03-21-2013, 06:58 PM
ForTheGlory ForTheGlory is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joe's Garage
Years Playing: 3.3
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by bombmk View Post
Correct.

"
Altering the course of a thrown disc with the consent of the thrower in order to prevent the disc from becoming lost is not punishable interference. Any disc whose course is altered for that reason is considered to be a lost disc.
"

http://www.pdga.com/rules/official-r...3-interference
I get it now. Thank you for clearing it up for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Disc Golf Center

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.