#1  
Old 04-24-2013, 06:43 PM
numbernine's Avatar
numbernine numbernine is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: indiana
Years Playing: 5.5
Courses Played: 46
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 248
Tournament/Rules/Score Question

Sorry, couldn't find the rule that applies to this specifically.
I will try to be succinct here.

C tier tournament.
Guy has a 73 marked as his score, and his name is signed.
73 is on the placard card as well.
The results are posted online and the guy calls the TD, letting him know that he thought he shot a 71.
The TD checks the card and it should have indeed been a 71.

So, what is the ruling? Do you:
A. Stroke him and he shoots a 75?
B. Stroke him and he shoots a 73?
C. Stroke everyone on the card 2, as they signed a bum card?
D. Other?

Thank you in advance your insight on this matter!
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2013, 06:48 PM
mfcastillo17's Avatar
mfcastillo17 mfcastillo17 is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Years Playing: 8.6
Courses Played: 78
Posts: 412
he gets a 73. The correct score (71) plus a two stroke penalty for an incorrect card. It has no bearing on the other members of the card as long as their score is correct. But, the TD should have checked it before posting it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2013, 06:48 PM
biscoe biscoe is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 19.6
Courses Played: 78
Posts: 4,169
he gets 73.

Last edited by biscoe; 04-24-2013 at 06:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2013, 06:51 PM
numbernine's Avatar
numbernine numbernine is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: indiana
Years Playing: 5.5
Courses Played: 46
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfcastillo17 View Post
he gets a 73. The correct score (71) plus a two stroke penalty for an incorrect card. It has no bearing on the other members of the card as long as their score is correct. But, the TD should have checked it before posting it.
This was my gut reaction too.
Do you have a rule I can cite for this?

Thanks for the input.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-24-2013, 07:14 PM
jeverett's Avatar
jeverett jeverett is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Eugene, OR
Years Playing: 5.6
Courses Played: 22
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 993
Quote:
Originally Posted by numbernine View Post
This was my gut reaction too.
Do you have a rule I can cite for this?

Thanks for the input.
Here's the line in the PDGA rulebook:

805.02 Scoring

H.2. If it is determined that the total score was incorrectly recorded, either by an error on a hole score or by an error in totaling the hole scores, including omission of the total score, the director shall add two penalty throws to the correct total score. These penalty throws are not added when the Director corrects a player's score for other infractions determined after the player had turned in an otherwise correct scorecard.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-24-2013, 07:15 PM
numbernine's Avatar
numbernine numbernine is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: indiana
Years Playing: 5.5
Courses Played: 46
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeverett View Post
Here's the line in the PDGA rulebook:

805.02 Scoring

H.2. If it is determined that the total score was incorrectly recorded, either by an error on a hole score or by an error in totaling the hole scores, including omission of the total score, the director shall add two penalty throws to the correct total score. These penalty throws are not added when the Director corrects a player's score for other infractions determined after the player had turned in an otherwise correct scorecard.

Boom.
Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-24-2013, 07:17 PM
ejvogie's Avatar
ejvogie ejvogie is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toledo, OH
Years Playing: 6.3
Courses Played: 61
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by numbernine View Post
Sorry, couldn't find the rule that applies to this specifically.
I will try to be succinct here.

C tier tournament.
Guy has a 73 marked as his score, and his name is signed.
73 is on the placard card as well.
The results are posted online and the guy calls the TD, letting him know that he thought he shot a 71.
The TD checks the card and it should have indeed been a 71.

So, what is the ruling? Do you:
A. Stroke him and he shoots a 75? No
B. Stroke him and he shoots a 73? Yes, correct score +2
C. Stroke everyone on the card 2, as they signed a bum card? No. Even though everyone signed the card, the only score they're responsible for is their own
D. Other? N/A

Thank you in advance your insight on this matter!
That said, since it was already posted, I'd probably leave it as-is, even if it would have changed the result. He had his chance to catch his mistake the day of the tournament.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-24-2013, 07:20 PM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 19.5
Courses Played: 115
Posts: 7,917
Did the TD (or staff) check the card and not catch the error before the tournament was finalized?

I'm too lazy to check, but I thought once the event was finished and all prizes awarded, it was final. I'd hate to get into correcting results after all the witnesses have departed.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-24-2013, 07:22 PM
numbernine's Avatar
numbernine numbernine is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: indiana
Years Playing: 5.5
Courses Played: 46
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidSauls View Post
Did the TD (or staff) check the card and not catch the error before the tournament was finalized?

I'm too lazy to check, but I thought once the event was finished and all prizes awarded, it was final. I'd hate to get into correcting results after all the witnesses have departed.
That's just it, it already is posted as a 73.
So there really is nothing to correct, per se.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 04-24-2013, 07:37 PM
Thumber's Avatar
Thumber Thumber is online now
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Years Playing: 7.6
Posts: 1,638
I have got in the habit of adding score and getting it checked before my cad mates wonder off to wherever after the round.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Disc Golf Center

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.