#1  
Old 07-02-2013, 08:32 AM
Lachendr0 Lachendr0 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Courses Played: 4
Posts: 10
Ace pot payout. Weather cancelation?

This hasn't happened yet, but I'm running a doubles league and wanted to get a feel for what to do.

Ace pot =200$ (not important but just incase)
Round starts and a player hits an ace on their 6th hole.
Due to bad lightning the round gets canceled after 9 holes.
Normally all money is returned for cancelations.

Do we pay the out the ace pot?
Does it matter which hole it was on
Does it matter when the round was canceled?
Does it matter if one group only finished 5 holes?

My inclination is that all money is returned unless everyone finished at least 12 holes and the ace pot is not paid out.

If everyone finished at least 12 holes I pay out normally based on the number of holes all teams finished. (One team finishes 13 while one finishes 15, we just take everyone's first 13) ace pot pays if it was on a hole counted for score?

We do shotgun start and all holes are par 3 (but some are clearly harder) is the above still fair?

I welcome any input.

The player in me wants paid for hitting it, since I paid in.
The dubs runner in me wants it to be fair.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-2013, 08:53 AM
Johnny_Crunch Johnny_Crunch is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cypress TX
Years Playing: 2.9
Courses Played: 49
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 908
Does the first person to hit an ace get paid or will it split if 2 people ace in the same round?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2013, 08:55 AM
CaptainAnhyzer's Avatar
CaptainAnhyzer CaptainAnhyzer is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albany, NY
Years Playing: 28.9
Courses Played: 77
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,201
Good question.

My Dubs league also has the 12 hole minimum rule.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-2013, 08:57 AM
Lachendr0 Lachendr0 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Courses Played: 4
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny_Crunch View Post
Does the first person to hit an ace get paid or will it split if 2 people ace in the same round?
We split the pot
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-2013, 09:02 AM
CaptainAnhyzer's Avatar
CaptainAnhyzer CaptainAnhyzer is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albany, NY
Years Playing: 28.9
Courses Played: 77
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,201
Since you most likely do a shotgun-type start, each group will not have completed the same 12 holes. Already a certain amount of unavoidable unfairness.

If the guy hits the ace on his 14th hole and the minimum # of completed holes by all cards is only 12, his ace should probably not payout from the ace pot.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2013, 09:02 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 18.8
Courses Played: 114
Posts: 6,773
Talk about an extremely unlikely scenario.

You could make a good argument either way. If you want to pay out the ace pot, try this---

When a person has a great round going halfway through the course, he still has no guarantee of winning or even placing the in the cash. But when a person hits an ace in the first half of the course, he knows he's won the ace pool, or at least part of it.

So the folks playing well, or even leading, can't exactly say that the postponement cost them money. But the person who's already aced, can.

Consider it could be an issue if the ace pot were huge, and the call to halt due to weather is debatable. Better to pay it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-2013, 09:03 AM
Thumber's Avatar
Thumber Thumber is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Years Playing: 6.9
Posts: 1,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lachendr0 View Post
We split the pot

what's the probability of a split? If its low, like never happened, then pay out. If its high, then set some hole limit. I view an Ace as a bit separate from the round
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-02-2013, 09:04 AM
chrishysell's Avatar
chrishysell chrishysell is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Richmond, Va.
Years Playing: 21.2
Courses Played: 184
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,477
My weekly averages around 65 players each week. Last week there was a threat for rain. Typically it doesn't rain but it was inevitable. I repeatedly warned everyone that we were going to play in the rain unless there was some really dangerous lightning. All aces pay $50. Two holes into the round there was an ace. By the 7th hole we had lots of wind and the rain began. It lasted for two holes. The 1st question I got was if aces were being paid if they player quit. I said yes. You could ace your 1st hole on a sunny day and quit the next hole and I feel you should still get paid. Of course we had some occasional lightning flashes and wind and there was the typically whining about it being dangerous. 3 people quit. Why do people bother to show up if they don't want to play?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-02-2013, 09:07 AM
kyledriver's Avatar
kyledriver kyledriver is offline
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 71
Never really thought about this problem, when/ if you cancel the round do you normally return the ace pot entry? I would say no returns on any ace pot money cause you could smash one on the first hole.
Reply With Quote
 
  

  #10  
Old 07-02-2013, 09:08 AM
Pwingles's Avatar
Pwingles Pwingles is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Spushin so hard
Years Playing: 8.3
Courses Played: 55
Posts: 3,053
If someone aces, you should pay them.

I like the idea of a min holes play req't to pay out winnings tho.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.